An ode to my yogurtland spoon

13 55
Avatar for ewyr
Written by
2 years ago

This is a story about my spoon, the horrible waste on earth, and about what we need in life.

Eight years ago I got this spoon at a Yogurtland outlet in USA. It was for a small froyo, for $3.25. It came with a paper cup, and a plastic spoon. There are mochi balls, bursting bubbles, green tea foyo, vanilla froyo...!

If you are not familiar, it is a chain selling self serve frozon yogurt (froyo). It has a bunch of flavors to choose from, and a bunch of toppings to add on top.

You pay at the end by weight. You just put you cup on the scale, and pay.

It is famous for

  • people sneakily filling up sample cups then leaving

  • people eating the froyo then refilling up before paying

  • people adding absurd amounts of froyo and toppings

Back to my spoon....

Typically, someone would buy the froyo, eat it, and throw out the cup and spoon. At 500 people per week across 300 locations over the 15 years un business, this would be almost 8 million spoons. Yogurtland is one of many just in the froyo market.

I actually bought the froyo for the spoon, so I could buy things at supermarkets and eaet them.

My spoon has lasted me 8 years and going strong.

It is in my essential items kit that goes with me everywhere, along with my toothbrush, toothpaste, passport, and small emergency medical items.

I can take it anywhere, fits in my jacket pocket, stays with me in airplanes since it is plastic.

It is critical to my life and my health. When travelling, even with no place to stay, or in unsantiary places, it allows me to eat safely. It allows me to buy yogurt and eat it from a store. I can eat noodles on a roadside stall and not have to use cutlery that may be unsanitary. I can buy trailmix or nuts, and eat without using my hands.

It is absurd to think millions of these are thrown out every year, only to fill up oceans and landfills with plastics that never degrade.

It is sad things so useful are casually discarded.

It is sad to think the enourmous unneccessary waste I have used in the past. I have probably used thousands spoons just myself. I have purchased so many cutlery sets over so many years. It seemed normal.

I realize I just need one throw away spoon for the rest of my life to have what I need. In fact everything I need to live my life perfectly fits in my jacket pockets.

8
$ 2.65
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeansapphire39
$ 0.05 from @Chelle18
+ 7
Avatar for ewyr
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hey! Thank you so much for upvoting my article with $10. I didn't expect it. I guess you are interested to marry a Filipino one day? Hahahah that's what I think or maybe you are a very very generous person here.

I want to read more of your articles @ewyr so I landed in this ode of Yogurtland article.

$ 1.00
2 years ago

hahaha, i just love your article saying all the nice things about Filipino. I see from California, to Singapore to Malaysia to Hong Hong, always Filipinos are friendly, doing all the hard work in hospitals, nursing, taking care of families, also also being the best entertainers and singers!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww everything you said are true about Filipinos. If you will visit our country, you will see a lot of teamwork. We like helping each other even we're strangers and also we like doing celebrations together even it's a stranger we met, we will invite them to join.

Have you been in Philippines before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes the reality that sucks now, other people doesn't care with our nature just throwing anywhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

About spoon? Dear, it's a different thing as a concept. And you wrote accurately, we are wasting things and the sea is becoming the garbage. Sad but true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I was amazed how you managed to keep that spoon with you for years. Well I myself started only bringing with me eco cutlery when pandemic started. for safety purposes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear you got my attention by dropping some Bitcoin on my previous article. Thanks for that i am do happy for that.

Now after visiting your profile, i found that person who is related yo my field or care for environment. This is really great idea. To recycle plastic. In my country Pakistan here government setting up plastic recycling machine. People would get money after putting their plastic into that machine. This is really interesting. Glad to see your efforts. And would keep interacting because my next article also on environmental pollution. I hope you would keep kind visit to my articles regularly. Thanks dear:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for that kind of plastic that lasted for 8 years so it is really durable. and you are right tones of plastic spoons are thrown every year . Why not let the customer bring their own spoon or maybe the old one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great amazing idea, recycling and reusing is the good thing that can help our environment too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was good your keeping your plastic spoon for over years. You are not a waster, you had helped our mother nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi! I just wanna say thank you for the upvote you gave on my latest article. More power! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The design of your spoon seems unique. I didn't know before that plastic spoons are such a good long lasting. Nice to hear that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowww...what a nice spoon at it goes 8 years but still can be used. Plastic are always be thrown especially here in Philippines,thats why our President really cleaned up the rivers and the beaches..

$ 0.00
2 years ago