Open Question #2:

2 24
Avatar for evan.fleischer
4 years ago

Hey, all --

Thanks for responding to the previous open question.

Something of a follow up: have you encountered any particularly 'noteworthy' moments when it comes to crypto interacting with the 'real' world?

For myself, I'm thinking of when I walked into a Thai restaurant next to UT Austin and saw a Crypto ATM machine off in the corner. No one was using it. No one was coming in to use it. No one who worked at the restaurant paid it any mind -- as if it were a tiny little asterisk in the fabric of that reality waiting for its number to be called.

I got a kick out of it.

1
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Read.Cash
Sponsors of evan.fleischer
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Personally, I've never encountered crypto mixing into real life so far. I mean except for the times when I was doing it, like annoying my friends and relatives about how great crypto is :) It was interesting reading your observation about ATM. I think it's a great metaphor for crypto at the moment - doesn't seem interesting for people, because you (seemingly) can't get rich with it anymore (which is probably not true), so people lost interest, despite crypto having many other wonderful sides, like being able to send a few cents to a person you don't even know half way around the globe :)

$ 0.01
4 years ago

Intriguing to hear! (And, hah! re: your last point.) And I'm glad the metaphor found you well. I think it speaks to ... well, there's a half-silo'd, half-real world quality to all this, isn't there? It's interesting/striking to draw it out.

$ 0.00
4 years ago