Writing for Money - What Not to Do

4 43

I write to earn money. I don't write to just pass time. That is just another bonus. Over a period of time I realized there are things that didn't worked out. And some of the things that needs to be done.

When you write for years. Over a period of time you learn a lot of things. Like what is working that season and what is not going to work in other season. Something like that is thing that needs to be learned with time.

Writing for money requires a lot of discipline and also requires time and efforts. When you learn to put your time into the right perspective. You make the most out of the parts of your life. Something you need to learn about over period of time.

So without further wasting time, let's talk about what are some of the things you should not do.

No Free Samples, No Low Priced Temp Work: No

I remember there used to be a time when the free sample was a norm. And then people used to collect your free sample and use them in their own work. And that free sample was free and you were left with no money.

When you see the point the free sample is serving, you stop funding your time for someone else's use case. So you need to understand that your value is not zero. Make a blog instead and show it as a portfolio.

Do not show free samples. Make a blog or the niche portfolio of the content. And then showcase that content to others. This is one way you can make good impression on the new clients. That's one way to get attention.

Crypto Content Writing as Sole Source of Income : Yes

I think this can be tough for some people. But there are people who write on steem, hive and read.cash. They are making that content writing as a sole source of income. As that gives them some cushion to work with.

I feel that crypto writing is a good approach for the income. You can make money off the donation and the upvotes. It all adds up in the income. It may take time for compounding all of the same.

Make it sole source of income only after having multiple other streams working out in a passive way or semi passive way. There is nothing wrong with doing this as a side hustle. I am doing it the same way.

Writing too Much Personal: No

I think I have been guilty of doing this. I explain a lot about my personal life. I know I should not do this. I think I done this to vent out and got my feelings out. But over a period of time that needs to be changed.

Don't write about lack of married life, or having kids or getting married. That information can be used against you. That information may be used to stalk you and may be used to comment towards you.

When you write personal, keep it short and sweet. The less people know the more they would understand about you. I feel that writing personal takes effort and also something not everyone should try out.

Writing Political, Religion and Social: No

Do you write as if your own religion is superior? Do you write as if it's politically correct from you? It's somethin that makes you social butterfly? I feel everything needs to be in moderation.

Make sure you write in such a way that all of this remains in moderation. And you don't use it against the people and neither they should use it against you. That's what most of the people should use when it comes to those topics.

Being politically correct and writing about things which interest you is a good thing instead of that. I make sure to write about politics in limited context and don't get much deep with it. I find that it is in moderation.

Grammarly or Content Checker is a Must: Yes

I have started using the grammarly. I feel it's a good software. Though I am not using it on read.cash as of yet and writing very quickly here.I feel I need to be using it here often if possible.

I also think that content checker options out there needs to be used in proper way. I don't know if there are any cloud options out there but grammarly works fine as of now and I may consider using those options for now.

I also think that making use of them in the Word and the browser itself can be a good option as it corrects you right here as well.

What do you think?

I think there are lot of things you should do and not do while writing in case of earning money. But all of this takes time and some strong efforts. But we will get to those things in time.

I'd appreciate your comments on this topic :)

11
$ 4.43
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 5
Sponsors of esmeesmith
empty
empty
empty

Comments

That one thing I will consider writing next time, use grammar app/checker and original content checker (something like this).

Sometimes we come with strong point with what we believe & by this time, we can adjust into moderation so our readers can fully relate (though I allow them to express it that way). We learn as we write. We'll keep this in mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe that personal information should only be included in writing to avoid sounding generic. Thank you, esmeesmith.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree on all points. For me it would be difficult to live off crypto writing alone due to the cost of living here but I guess for many people it is a real possibility. I have to admit that writing for free in any form is not very motivating. I'd rather get 1 cent than 0 even if I can't buy anything with the $0.01.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with writing too much personal, although we are in an open blogging platform that accept diverse topic too personal or every details should not be written for privacy purposes and protection.. although I've written a lot but not all details. If I have problems I still consider our privacy that I don't vent out everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago