Polyglot

0 8
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Is the word familiar to you? According to an english dictionary, a polyglot is someone who can converse in many languages. We can consider the Philippines a polyglot region since there's a lot of spoken dialects here. According to statistics, the Philippines has more than 170 spoken languages and dialects and it has eight major dialects. There are even regions wherein every single town has their own distinct dialect. So most Filipinos are bilingual or multi lingual since they can change their dialect from one to another with ease. Language is a very important aspect of our lives because it unites people and also has the power to cause war. As I was growing up, I've lived in various places so I was able to acquire the dialects in those places as well. To sum it up, I can converse and communicate in 4 languages which are English, Filipino, Bicol and Filipino Sign Language ang I also speaks 4 different dialects. Before, I've always been wondering what talents do I have but based on what I learned in Dr. Howard Gardner's multiple intelligences I have this so-called linguistic intelligence since I've always been fascinated in learning different languages. When I became addicted to korean dramas and korean music - basically anything about korea, I was motivated to study Korean language and their distinct writing as well which is called 'Hangeul'. I was able to read and speak in korean but since I'm not using it all the time and there's nobody I can speak to using that language, I'm unable to become well-versed in that language, but at least I can understand when someone speaks. Some time ago, I've met some Latina and Latino friends and they motivated me to study the spanish language. My main reason os to converse to them freely without the help of google translate since most Latinos and Latinas doesn't know how to speak english well. I'm not sure why I'm drawn to learning different languages but one thing I know is that I feel happy whenever I'm able to speak a new one.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

alright, thanks for the word for.today. i agree. Philippines has many dialects and languages as well. Thanks for sharing it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Based on your article, I am glad that you have the great advantage of learning different languages. It's all you remember, a great creature ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really the first time I have ever seen a Latino write English this good I guess you put in a lot of work to improve yourself. Very nice work here. I love everything here. Very captivating

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sir. However I am not actually a Latino. I'm a Filipino and I have several Latino friends who are encouraging me to study their language. Anyway thank you for appreciating my work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Noted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a great advantage for a Polyglot as the person can fit into many establishments at a time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago