Parents: Are they our Prison Guards or Our Life Guards?

23 112
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

As kids, our parents have been our first confidante, they we're probably the only person whom we trust. Whenever we have a problem, we ran to them to ask for advice and at the same time we have confidence that it's okay to trust and tell them how we feel.

However as we grow older, things change. Children are oftentimes annoyed by their parent's nagging, some think that their parents does not understand how they feel. Sometimes it's just too hard to communicate with them especially when you are talking and trying to tell them something and they will cut you off. So talking to them usually ends up into arguments. There are also instances when children wants to gain more freedom but it seems like it's too hard to gain their trust.

When children encounter this, at times, we think that the easiest way to avoid arguments is not to talk to our parents and do things behind their back to avoid the restrictions.

Our parents loves us very much so they want what's the best for us. That's why they give those house rules, chores, curfews, reminders, correction and they discipline us if needed.

Sometimes, we may not come in agreement with our parents and we get frustrated because of that. But here's the thing - how we view our parents affects how much we obey and reapect them.

What can help us to get along well with our parents?

We should try to change the way we view them.

Should we consider our parents as prison guards or life guards?

Prison guards were trained to get a close watch to the prisoners because they dont really trust them. They keep them confined with many restrictions. And they dictate what prisoners should do like when to get up, when and what to eat and tells them what to do and when to do things. It's really hard when someone is keeping an eye on everything you do, it's frustrating because you do not know what and how to act properly. Same with parents, we may sometimes view them like prison guards because we feel like their keeping us from doing what we want and it seems like they are watching all our moves. This happens when we are seeking for more freedom and independence.

But what of we view our parents as life guards? Just like prison guards they are also trained to watch over people but they have a different purpose. Their purpose is to keep people safe especially the swimmers. They are trained to look after the swimmers and keep them from danger. Our parents can also be likened to lifeguards who guards and warns us against the dangers we are not even aware of.

When we view our parents in a positive way, it will help us to see that what they are doing are all for our sake and it will help us to give them more respect. We can do what the bible passage says "honor your father and your mother".

Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty

P.S. This is something I learned from a virtual convention I've attended yesterday. I'm inspired by it and thought of sharing it with you all.

What can you say about this? Comment it down below 😊

30
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

Parents only do things because they are guarding us, there are some things I cannot understand before but when I became a parent myself I did understand those things I cannot understand before. Our parents are our lifeguard it's just that sometimes they went overboard.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Children nowadays are difficult to handle. They are being disrespectful and hard to please. Not to mention my kids. I only have one problem. It's the youngest.

As a child, I don't feel freedom at all. So I consider myself as a prisoner. I think they are all eyes on me. Especially my mom, everything I do is being corrected. That's why at an early age I am afraid to do something on my own. Not until I went to high school I began to gain confidence and learned to decide on my reasoning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The youngest is usually the problem πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚ I guess, I think kids with authoritarian parents are usually the ones who feel like a prisoner when it comes to dealing with their parents. I also felt that way before, but I'm trying my best to understand them and see the positive in them. So I don't feel like a prisoner now.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah i agree to that. Same here, i'm moving forward and think of the positive side also. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kakatuwa kpg nagbigay ng tips si rr sa old articles natn.. 😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga haha kahit maliit lang na amount. Brings back the memories nung newbie pa lang 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo.. Bat ganun noh.. Kunti lng bigay sa old articles natn haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is on how we view them and not on how they treat us. Let us always look and analyze to know the reason why they are doing such thing.

Very well said dear. Keep it up😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let us always look and analyze to know the reason why they are doing such thing.

I agree with you on that, sometimes children only sees the negative not thinking about the reason behind their parent's action (actually I act like that at times too πŸ˜… So I made this article to remind myself hehe)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahhaa im guilty also about tjis. And i hope i can stop my impulsive reactions towards them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We should try to do that. Let's try to view them in a positive way. That will help us to be more understanding of them and we may appreciate them even more 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cant agree more. Good article dear, keep writing more❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is one old lady said, you didn't understand why your parents are so strict, why are they acting like a guard, why are they keeping us inside the house so they can see and monitor us, Before I don't understand that, especially my mom don't want us to go on swimming pool night out or even in days outing without them, they are so strict in every way, but after I became a mother too. I understand all that. Because I did it too to my child, I act like a guard I act like I imprison my child inside the house so I can keep my eyes on him it's because I don't want to get into accident, oi want my child to safe as always, that is what our parents do,. I get along with my parents too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parents have a lot to say hehehe My parents are also like that, they have a lot of rules, they we're very strict. When I was younger, I feel like those rules are too much and it's suffocating. But the second thought, I'm thankful that they we're very strict. Before I'm envious of my peers who have lenient parents, but the result is not good, some of them got pregnant at a young age and unable to finish their studies. I guess I'll understand those sentiments later when I become a parent too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is all true, when you think it in a positive way, you will be good, listening to the parents voice are one of the most important recorder you ever had haha. Listening to them will take you in a nice place in future. .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because parents knows best. Me way not understand the reason behind their actions and decisions at first but eventually will know that what they're doing is all for our sake.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lately, I've tried to get closer to my parents because I've to understand that they've always wanted the best for us (my siblings and I) though they are annoying sometimes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe I agree with you that sometimes parents are indeed annoying. Seems like they don't understand their children but they actually do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parents are they ones who guide us from danger,and encourage us at doing good things,before when I was little thou,it tought they where our prison guards,but now I have come to realise that they dint wanted us to engage in some silly act by making bad friends, having bad behaviours and so on, when we mingle with people outside the house,which is usually common in the ghetto community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life guards to be compared to our parents is a good way of describing that when we come into arguments with our parent, it's just because our decisions might be flawed to them and they want to protect us, but if you still believe that this is what i want to do i know my life i know myself, that's when our parents will agree but still look after us, what important is we have to communicate with our parents properly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Accurate knowledge can help us understand that our parents are life guard s unfortunately only few will be able to dig the gem of accurate knowledge , only those humble and meek ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Basically , most of the child think it's in negative way, especially when they parents act like guards or strict. But parents did those action to make us ( children's ) to be good and be safe Everytime.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm actually guilty of what you just said hehe. There are times that i feel like their strictness is just too much and they are like prison guards who have their eyes on me all the time but later on I also realize that what they are doing is because they want the best for me ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago