How to be a good friend?

13 36
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

While scrolling on my social media page I saw this picture:

Sadly, this is the reality today. A person may have lots of friends but when in need there is only one good friend who is there to help.

Nowadays technology enables people to gain friends easily. In just one click we can be friends with someone on social media platforms. We can even gain not just hundreds, but even thousand of friends! And when we no longer want to be friends with them we can simply click a button to remove or unfriend them.

Many people surely loves love to gain a lot of friends online, they enjoy it a lot when friends appreciates their posts, like and comment on their pictures and some even shares them. Others also spends many hours talking to friends through social media messaging apps. People may have thousands of friends on the internet but how about having real close friends? Many would agree that they only have few real good friends compared to their online friends. (Well, it's the same for me too)

Many will also agree that there is more to friendship aside from liking or reacting, commenting and long hours of chatting through social media messaging apps. And most of us doesn't want to have gain friendship that ends in just one click, we want long lasting friendship and we want to gain real good friends!

Consider the following friendship tips that may help in gaining good friends:

β€’ To have long lasting friendship with people and to gain a good friend, we must be a good friend first.

β€’ We must care for them first, show them that we are really interested and willing to give them our time and effort without expecting anything in return. When we do this they will definitely notice and that will help us be drawn to each other and eventually become good friends.

Communication is vital! The flame of friendship becomes brighter if we have constant communication. And always remember that listening is one way to an effective communication. Be willing to listen and respect their opinion even though you may not agree with it.

β€’ Keep in mind that being a good friend doesn't necessarily mean that we should tolerate their wrong doings. Though it's not easy at times and it may feel a bit awkward we must help them and speak up if they did something wrong.

A good friend is not always the same age as you. Others think that when someone is older they may not have the same interest and may not understand each other hence, they can't be good friends with them. But that is not true. We can enjoy long lasting friendship even though there is a big age gap. Personally, I have friends who are way older than me but I have them as good friends. They can give advices which our peers can't give.

Building friendship may require time and effort but it's all worth it. It's worth having good friends and enjoy long lasting friendship with them.

How about you? What do think is the best way to gain good friends? And can we br a good friend to someone?

Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty

Please feel free to πŸ‘ & Subscribe πŸ’•

8
$ 0.18
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

True Friends are those who're there through thick and thin. Even when you're far away with each other one hello through chat or text is enough😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you that distance is not a hindrance with real friends πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its so rare to find a good friend. Hmm for me, trust? You must be able to give your trust to gain someones trust in return, with that youll be able to learn more about that person and eventually maybe both of you might find something in common

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I honestly have never thought of that. But yeah I agree that to gain someone's trust we have to trust them first ance we build that trust to each other we can be good friends with them. Nice point πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me the best way to gain friend is showing who you really are. I am not a friendly person, some people afraid to talk on me because of my serious face and a high intonation voice πŸ˜„ but I have a lot of friends naman. They always told me na Mommy Yen akala ko dati ang sungit mo, hindi pala. Just be yourself lang and eventually makikita talaga nila yung tunay na ikaw rather than trying to being nice kunwari pero as the time past by they will see the real you. Yung iba ko nga friends nung first meeting namin natatarayan ko pa πŸ˜‚ pero ngayon halos bff ko na πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Wow. Super nakakarelate po ako sa comment mo. Ganyan na ganyan din kasi ako. First impression lagi ng iba is mataray or masungit dahil sa serious face lagi but as they get to know me for showing the real me, sinasabi nila na mabait din naman pala hehe yung iba na parang di ko makakasundo nung una super close friends ko na din ngayon 😊 Totoo satin yung kasabihan na 'some first impression never lasts' hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

If I read what you wrote and next to the tips I think chatting for hours is communicating or? The main problem is most of us wear a mask. We are not honest with ourselves and not to others. We are always in a hurry and do not want to invest time in just sitting there and talking.

Perhaps we should ask ourselves why. How come we expect others to be a good, true friend but at the same time do nothing in return?

I agree friendship has nothing to do with age but you do need to have something in common. Life experiences for example or certain interests or there must be a click. That click is rare these days.

I hardly have friends and that's fine with me. I don't have the time and energy to invest in many friends. If you ask me friendship is that what you expect from it or from that particular person.

πŸ’•

$ 0.01
3 years ago

The main problem is most of us wear a mask. We are not honest with ourselves and not to others. We are always in a hurry and do not want to invest time in just sitting there and talking.

I don't know about others but, personally when I want to be friends with someone I tend to be very transparent and I always enjoy the company of my real friends. I think investing time talking to them in person is all worth it.

I agree friendship has nothing to do with age but you do need to have something in common. Life experiences for example or certain interests or there must be a click. That click is rare these days.

I also agree with you on this. That we need to have something in common to be compatible and for friendship to work.

I hardly have friends and that's fine with me. I don't have the time and energy to invest in many friends.

Few friends as long as they are real is enough.

Thank you for your insights 🧑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago