How Being Bullied Shaped Me Into The Person I Am.

1 15
Avatar for erikoperez
3 years ago

Intro

I remember my high schools being a painful and horrible experience. I was repeatedly bullied for being overweight, socially awkward, and short. There was me standing at 5'3" where my classmates towered over me. To be fair, I was pretty weird and nerdy for someone their age. I used to brag about my skills in IT and how I was able to troubleshoot computers at a very young age. There were a few occasions where I was told to kill myself. I never went along with any self-harm or suicide attempts, but there were times where I was really close to having a mental breakdown and ending it all.

Being bullied made me a repellent to women because I never taught myself how to stand up for myself. Things at home were not great either. My parents were always at work during high school so I was normally stuck taking care of my brother while he did his homework. I was maybe invited to two birthday parties by the few friends I had. I never kissed or had any sexual relations with any girl during my teen years. In fact, I am still a virgin to this day.

So, I was bullied so what. I know I am not special. Bullying happens to a lot of men and women growing up in their teenage years. What can you do? Well, all you can do is... accept the fact that this happened and get over it. Why exactly?

Well, you are far better off trying to get over something that was completely out of your control rather than have a pity party. You never grow as a person, if you choose to have pity parties.

So what did I learn then?

  • 1. I learned to develop compassion and empathy for people. I know this sounds pretty cliché and what not. Believe it or not. Developing compassion and empathy for people will make you understand how it feels to be an outcast when you didn't ask for it.

  • 2. High school is not the real world. This one actually took me a while to realize, but when you think about it. It makes sense. Going to high school for me was like waiting for my impending doom. In the real world as a twentysomething adult, I soon realized that the world was not out to get me and other people are not obsessed with trying to put you down. Well, maybe your boss if you turn up late but that was on you.

  • 3. Say 'no' and be assertive. Actually having the power to say 'no' and standing up for yourself when put in any uncomfortable situation will make your life a hell of a lot easier.

Conclusion.

The real world is not like high school. You need to to go out there and achieve your goals.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for erikoperez
3 years ago

Comments

I was bullied growing up. People do bully even out of high school, sadly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago