β€œYou Shine the Brightest when You are Yourself”

23 55
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Be yourself, oh, I always hear that anywhere and everywhere I go. I always heard that saying when I was at school when we had our reporting a role-play or an exam, etc. We were always reminded to be honest most especially with ourselves.

Thinking and saying about it is easy, yeah sure, it is. But I want to be honest here, honestly, it's hard for me to be myself most of the time. I have failed to keep it way back before.

I tricked myself several times back, saying the words I am okay even I am not deep inside just to make the situation better. But did it help?

Somehow yes, but mostly no, simply because there's a heavy sentiment inside. And through that, I am being dishonest with my feelings, then, later on, I realized I am not true to myself.

Some things hinder us in showing our real emotions, there are circumstances where we chose to hide what we truly think and feel about something or someone, maybe because we're uncertain of some things that might happen if we show or inform them the true feelings we have.

When I was young, I guess I have already shared here that I was dictated by my elders to become someone they know when I grow up. They want me to become who they think the best, and whenever they asked me if I agree with them I always respond positively that, yes I do but the truth is, no I am not.

In fact, they were one of those people who told me to be myself every time. But, sorry, I faked them.

I was afraid to be judged, you know, I have low self-esteem while growing up. My life before was like a drama, it would give you tears but with a bit of joy of course, but mostly I'm in gloomy days before.

I grew up that I am not confident enough by the appearance I have. You know, I am so skinny, right? Besides, I grew up with my dad, and since I am still a youngster he's the one who always bought me my clothes.

I grew up wearing my old ripped jeans until they become pedal shorts. Wear the same plain tees until they tore for years of wearing repeatedly. I barely got girly stuff, no ponytails, no earrings, no dresses, and girly clothes.

I was often called a β€œtomboy” when I was in my mid-teens because of my fashion styled by my father. But then, I never confronted my dad that I don't like what he gave me, I know that it's hard for him and I understand him.

I am still thankful that I have decent clothes to wear and appreciate them all by wearing them. But then, of course, as a teen I also want to experience how other girls styled their fashions that reveal their beauties. But I was hesitant and I think it doesn't fit me.

Until I graduated from college, I rarely stained my lips with lip gloss or lipsticks, or any lip colors. I never dressed up as a fine lady until I wore my toga.

See this photo of me when I was in my first year of college. I was the one in the middle. Look how skinny I am. πŸ˜…

I just covered my classmates’ faces since I have no permission to post their faces here. πŸ˜…

When I got my first job, my manager always told me to put some makeup on, since I am facing different people every day in my duty. When I told her the truth that I don't know how to do it, she laughed and later on pitied me.

She even told me that it's not normal knowing that I am in my teen period. Then, she boosted my confidence, taught me how to take care of my face, and advised me to do what I want to do while I was young until I can.

Seriously, after that, I was slowly transformed into a lady. πŸ˜… Truthfully speaking, I truly looked boyish in my youthful years. But since I started working in a place with strangers around me, I recognized that my confidence was slowly rising too.

Because for me, sometimes being with some strangers who doesn't know me is better than people whom I know for years but keep on judging me as if they know the struggles I had been through.

With strangers, I have no fear to be judged on how I look, because in the city that I had been to, you can always wear what you want without other people glimpsing at you. In short, people there are minding their own businesses.

I lived in the city for almost four years, and when I get back home, my cousins were always shocked at how I was changed, physically and as a person.

In my four years of staying in the city, I learned to be myself, maybe living alone for years made me realized how important being true to myself was in my growth as a lady and as a person. I want to tell them my stories without hesitancy, I love to tell jokes, put smiles on their faces and laugh hard with my friends and closest. That's the real me.

My cousins were amazed that they finally see the jolliest side of me. I can now wear the clothes I want to wear without uncertainty. I am not affected by other people's opinions simply because I know who I am more than them.

I was always hesitant to speak before, I was afraid and was a weakling. Anyone could belittle me because I let them, but not again. The hardships I had living alone in a world full of strangers, with good and bad experiences I had, I learned to fight for myself and strived to live and survived.

I perhaps get out of my cage, the cage that was made up of insecurities, lack of confidence, and composite that hinders me for years. This is me, and I know myself better now, and it's a great feeling when you learn to love yourself for being who you really are.

I don't need to change myself to please other people, I don't need to follow in someone's footsteps just to be accepted.

If you keep on following other people's paths, you might miss a great story or journey that's waiting for you for so long to explore. You might be blinded and your ears might be full of other people's dreams, but don't forget to dream for yourself too. The dream that no one dictates you to get.

Be honest with yourself, you might not see it, but you shine the brightest when you are yourself.

This article was run by a plagiarism checker (Grammarly)

Click this link to see the result.

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻πŸ₯€

16
$ 13.54
$ 12.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 8
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

Shine bright like a diamond madam! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always be yourself...everyone else is taken!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero wait, bakit naman di normal oag di maalam mag make up? Or mag ayos? Abno pala ako πŸ€• di ako maalam nyan ee. Cheret haha.

You're good in pretending din pala ako. Ganyan din ako, till now naman. Kahit nga feelings ko pini fake ko ee. I'm good doing that. Sakin naman okay lang, kasi mas comfortable na din ako. Yong nong una pini fake ko lamg pero naging totoo na din ako to myself at kinareer ko na talaga. Magaling nga ako sa ganyan kasi.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ewan ko nga eh pero sa city baka gnun halos lahat ng babae, pag nagdalaga maruning ng mag ayos, eh ako si probinsyana, wala talaga kahit ngayon. πŸ˜… Natuto lng ako maglipstick pero make up wala tlga 🀣

Pero uy minsan mabigat din dalhin yan ah, ramdam ko yan dati eh, yung tipong sinanay ko sarili kong pekein ang true feelings ko. Na kahit di ko na kaya makasama yung mga taong inaalipusta ako pero kinaya ko nlng kasi ayoko ng gulo. Haysss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuuee. I really agree with the title itself. No one can play our role better than us. We are better when we shine our own light and not just hide in the shadows. we are born to shine. Ilovethis.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aw, thank you Sequioa. 😊 it's time to get out of that shadows. You are a jewel and you shine the brightest, you'll see it until you choose to glow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww πŸ€— then I think, I should start my glow up journey hihihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dream for yourself it-s a great piece of advice. And it's so true that we are bright when we are ourselves. Pleasing others wears us down, but pleasing ourselves makes us happy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, CoquiCoin. 😊 I used to dream the dream of others and it wasn't helpful. It feels like I was being chained on the neck and was controlled by them. But I'm glad I was able to unchain before it's too late. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the end, what matters is that now you pursue your dreams and not those of others. Not everyone can say that, and that's a great achievement!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really shine the brightest when we are ourselves and not pretending. Just continue to be you po because you are already awesome.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aw, thanks John. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thinking and saying about it is easy, yeah sure, it is. But I want to be honest here, honestly, it's hard for me to be myself most of the time. I have failed to keep it way back before. ---- ang hirap naman kasi talagang panindigan yung be yourself na yan sis lalo sa mundong ginagalawan natin na puno ng taong mapanghusga pero so slim mo pala talaga before ne. hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True ka jan sis hehehe. Kahit sinu ata di kayang maging true sa sarili every time. Ako kahit hanggang ngayon pero malala lng ako dati. 🀣

Ay truth, puro buto2 nga sis. πŸ˜… Now, puro bilbil na. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napagkakamalan din po akong tomboy noong bata pa ako dahil din po sa pananamit ko. At tama po kayo wala namang masama na magpakatotoo ka at ilabas yung tunay na ikaw as long as wala ka namang ginagawang masama at wala ka namang tinatapakang tao. At tsaka masarap po talaga sa pakiradam na nailalabas mo yung totoong ikaw.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kung di nga ako ngkaasawa't anak akala tlga ng iba tomboy ako o di kaya mag mamadre. πŸ˜… Kaya nga, mas better tlga ilabas ang tunay mong nararamdaman. Kasi di pwedeng lahat para sa knila nlng, dapat yung mga gusto mong gawin, gawin mo hanggat kaya pa at di pa huli ang lahat. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ako po NBSB pa din hanggang ngayon baka isipin talaga ng iba tomboy ako hahhahah. Opo tama po kayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well-said, madam. I prefer to live in a city where no one knows me. That's one of my dreams because I hate to be with people who keeps on watching me and just wait for me to fall. And yes, being our own selves makes us the prettiest, the brightest

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Me too, sis. While some strangers will show us more intimate support than those who we've known for years. Some of them are just waiting for us to stumble so they can talk behind our back. It's a very toxic attitude in this society, the worst is some are blood-related with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! We should not take support from lie. A lie can hinder your destination. We should be honest what we are. Merits and demrits are in our fate. But we should always real to ourself.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sometimes we are just in denial but the truth is even it's a lie, we go for it, but it won't make us happy in the end. So being true to oneself is undoubtedly needed for a more peaceful mind too. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One will not truly be happy if they don't love and be themself. I want to be me! And everyone should be too. Be you. Great article Zel!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Indeed mommy! Thank you πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago