What's your Sleep Problem?

40 76
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

“The worst thing in the world is to try to sleep and not to.”

– F. Scott Fitzgerald

Sleep, we all know that we need to sleep and it is necessary. People must stay awake for some hours at least out of the 24 hours in a day. It is needed in restoring our energy in our day to day living.

Can we stay awake all the time?

I know you can answer this question. Everyone knows that sleeplessness leaves our body being mentally, physically, and emotionally tired and weakened.

What makes us fall Asleep?

The amount of melatonin in our bodies starts increasing in the evening and peaks in the middle of the night, letting us know it is time to sleep.

Some people can fall asleep easily. Just lying down in a dimly lighted room and with just a wink, instantly, they fall asleep. However, some people have trouble getting to sleep. I have experienced trouble falling asleep before. And it was caused by thinking too much.

Are you experiencing sleep problems too?

What's your Sleep Problem?

Sleep problems can be caused by various factors. Although factors may differ, the outcome of all sleep disorders is that the body's natural cycle of bedtime and daytime wakefulness is disrupted or intensified.

Sleep Problems or Sleep Disorders

Sleep disorders are a group of conditions that affect the capacity to sleep well regularly. Whether they are affected by a health problem or by too much stress.

Do you have trouble falling asleep or sleeping through the night?

Or do you wake up too early or have a hard time waking up at all, and you are overly tired during the day?

You may not know you have one of the following sleep problems.

Insomnia

It is the inability to fall asleep or stay asleep. It may also be an indication of another condition. The disorder is most common among older adults and women.

Sleep apnea

This is a serious medical condition that causes the body to take in less oxygen. It can also result in you waking up during the night. This is characterized by pauses in breathing during sleep.

Two types of Sleep Apnea

  • obstructive sleep apnea, where the flow of air stops because airway space is too narrow, and

  • central sleep apnea, where there is a problem in the connection between the brain and the muscles that control your breath.

Parasomnias

These are a group of sleep disorders that cause unusual activities and behaviors during sleep. They include sleepwalking, sleep talking, groaning, nightmares, bedwetting, teeth grinding, or jaw clenching.

Restless leg syndrome

Restless leg syndrome is an irresistible need to move the legs. This urge is sometimes supported by a tingling feeling in the legs.

Narcolepsy

This is illustrated by “sleep attacks” that happen while awake. This means that you will suddenly feel incredibly tired and fall asleep without warning. The disorder can also cause sleep paralysis, which may make you physically incapable to move straight after awakening.

How are sleep disorders treated?

Treatment for sleep disorders can vary depending on the type and underlying cause. However, it generally includes a combination of medical treatments and lifestyle changes.

I can't get to sleep. Most of us have experienced this. Lying in the bed and just staring at the ceiling, waiting for the sleep fairy to visit you. Try to build up a regular go-to-bed and get-up time. Also remember to rest in a quiet, dark, or dim place to restore your strength and peace of mind almost as well as sleep, anyway. Also, try to be warm. and comfortable, have some fresh air. You can also eat something that might help you (some people sleep better after a snack, others after a big meal).

I can't stay awake. There are times when we have some important appointments and matters to do, it's embarrassing to wake up so late in the right accumulated time. If this embarrassing disability hits you just like after lunch, as it usually does, try to cut down the amount of food you eat. If you want to be awake for a certain time you can eat earlier as usual and have a nap afterward. You must not feel guilty about naps. Many efficient workers and thinkers have made naps a daily practice (such as Thomas Edison and Winston Churchill).

Sleeping on your left side. Is it true you shouldn't sleep on your left side because of your heart? The answer is No. In the first place, your heart is near the middle of your chest cavity, and in the second place, you're pretty sure to be on your left side sooner or later during normal sleep movements.

I can't stay awake driving. This is one of the main reasons why road accidents happen. Drivers fell asleep while driving especially during a long ride. If you're sleepy don't try to combat it. If there's nobody to relieve you at the wheel, pull off to the side of the road and have a short rest or nap.

The best way to treat and overcome your sleep problems is through lifestyle changes. Lifestyle adjustments can greatly improve your quality of sleep, especially when they’re done along with medical treatments. You may want to consider:

  • have more vegetables and fish in your diet, and try reducing your sugar intake.

  • reduce stress and anxiety by exercising and stretching.

  • create and stick to a regular sleeping schedule

  • Drink less water before bedtime and constraining your caffeine intake, particularly in the late afternoon or night

  • lessening tobacco and alcohol use

  • eating up smaller low carbohydrate meals before bedtime and sustain a healthful weight

Good sleep is crucial for optimal health and can affect hormone levels, mood, and weight. We humans need to sleep to be productive too. Never let these sleep problems prevent you from doing your tasks and obligations daily. Better sleep gives rise to better mornings, bringing your goals into focus and dreams within reach.

“The minute anyone’s getting anxious I say, You must eat and you must sleep. They’re the two vital elements for a healthy life.”

Francesca Annis

“Sleep is the golden chain that ties health and our bodies together.”

Thomas Dekker

Source:

https://www.healthline.com/health/sleep/disorders#types

All Images from Unsplash 🖼️

@eommaZel ✍🏻

13
$ 5.73
$ 5.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

My sleep problems is, I am single I like someone to be with me during my bed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that's not a problem at all. If you're single, I know the right girl will come in your life. But you need to do something to make that girl fall in love with you. And by that, you can have someone by your side. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahah are you sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unusual and interesting ..excellent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words dear. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Jabs ito pla yun..haha.. Similar syo.. Pro hndi nmn sa content. Sa topic lng

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

I have a lot of sleep problems. I can't sleep all night. I feel sleepy all day. What a problem that is. The mood is bad if you have trouble sleeping.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. There's something lacking in your daily doses if you haven't enough and good sleep. And overthinking can affect your sleeping patterns and schedules too. If you can avoid it, do it so that you won't have any trouble getting to sleep.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your advice dear...💗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have also sleeping issues. Now from your article i got that point. I have a bad habit of over thinking. That's why i am facing this problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Overthinking may lead to troubles in sleeping. The best to do is avoid it and stay calm before you sleep.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, i will try my best to do so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I cant sleep till 1 to 2 am because i think too much and i wake up early everyday at 6 am,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no. You have shorter hours of sleep then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always sleep at my left side, I am more comfortable in there than on right.. Sometimes using gadgets late at night is the cause of sleep deprivation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too, I feel comfortable sleeping on my left side. And that's my problem too, using gadgets late at night. I'm writing my articles in the late evening, close to midnight. That's my only free time in a day. And if I left it unfinished, I'll finish and publish it in the morning. And now my body became used to it. I can not sleep earlier, I have troubles sleeping early at night.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha I feel you, it's been like that since I joined read cash I sleep late. This problem is common to us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have faced lots of time sleep problem. Whole night I can't sleep a minute i don’t know why. Mybe for some tension on my mind or something other. But you explained it clearly why we can't sleep. I love you wrote. It's very benefitical for everyone. Thank you for sharing such a informative article. Hope you will share more article like it. We are looking for your next article. Good luck❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe you have insomnia or are you feeling stressed? Stress can cause trouble in Sleeping. I hope your. sleep condition will improve sooner. And thank you for appreciating my works. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mybe the reason is stress, becouse when I can't sleep many things comes in my mind and I feel different from other days. But It's not regular problem. So I thing it’s not any kind of disease

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. That's normal. Due to stress and too much thinking may cause sleep problems, and many people is experiencing that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, you are right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sleep problem ko, kpg my work puyat na puyat, kpg walang work at gusto ko matulog ng mahaba haba, ayun kht walang alarm clock gigising ng kusa mga mata at hiral makatulog ulit. Hayst. Ganun na cguro body clock ko, nasanay magising ng maaga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Baka morning person ka hehehe. Ako ganyan din eh sanay na talag gumising ng maaga. Kung magising ako 4 or 5am hindi nko mkatulog minsan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Usually 6:30-7 gising ko.. Kya kht wala work early makising kht gusto ko pa matulog...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know it was a syndrome. My legs keep moving every time i am going to sleep. 🙄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe that's restless legs syndrome. Does it usually happen?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think, always. I can't even easily sleep with a lotion applied to it. It's not normal right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not really an expert though sometimes it happens to me too. I think it's normal if it doesn't happens daily or as usual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, i am just considering it as a mannerism 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good story dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you dear. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago