Snap Out Your Sleepiness

9 41
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Writing, Life, Experience

We all know the importance of sleep in our daily life. It's crucial for us humans, to be productive, to be active, and go on with our life hassle-free. When you have a good night's sleep often, you're probably healthier. But honestly, there were times where I am being sleepless, and lack of rest. I'm a human just like you, and I'm guilty about it.

How much sleep do we need?

I bet you know that the human body needs around eight (8) hours of sleep to function at its best.

Nevertheless, there will be times that good sleep is very hard to accomplish. There are certain times that we are full of loads, may it be at work or home, and even though you're tired, you can't sleep easily at night. Probably most of us have experienced it. If you find yourself feeling sleepy throughout the day, just like me from the other days, your body could be trying to say something.

Honestly, I felt something not good after small hours of sleep. Every morning after I woke up, I felt extremely incomplete and weird.

Have you experienced it too?

What do you feel?

Here are some noticeable effects when I was lack sleep.

Effects of Lack of Sleep in the Body

Tired and Sleepy

Well, I feel so tired and sleepy. Of course, I have slept a few hours not getting enough more than 8 hours of sleep. Therefore, I am very sleepy afterward. It seems like I can't move faster than usual. I'm so slow-moving and my eyes were heavy and was about to drop at any time. I hate this kind of feeling felt that my muscles were tired causing me to slow down.

Can't stay focus

Honestly, it's very hard to stay focus when you're sleepy. When someone talks to me, I can't even pay attention to what he's saying and I felt embarrassed at the same time. The same thing has happened whenever I wanted to write. No, I wasn't hit by an “Author's block”, or maybe it must be called “idea's block” instead. I can't focus and gain new ideas in my mind, because I felt drowsy and sleepy even at day time. I can't get to the right direction the ideas and thoughts in my mind. It affects my attention, alertness, concentration, reasoning, and problem-solving in my daily activities. I felt like I am very unproductive during those times.

I became uneasy and short-tempered.

I have noticed this every time I was lack sleep. I easily get mad and frequently lose my temper. I'm very guilty about this. Often my toddler will do something bad or made a mistake, I became fiery easily. After that, I certainly felt guilt inside of me.

It lowers libido.

Honestly, as a woman with a partner, I've noticed that I became less interested in intimacy lately. And that's because I'm too tired for it, my body isn't prepared for such activity. And I felt guilty about it, and for my partner. Oftentimes he will just saw me deeply asleep, snoring without giving him intimate times. That's pretty embarrassing for a relationship.

*Note: those mentioned above were all my personal experiences.

While let me share with you some effects of lack of sleep.

After numerous sleepless nights, the mental consequences will become more serious. It will make your brain difficult to concentrate especially on creating decisions. You'll begin to feel down and may fall asleep during the day. The risk of injury and accidents at home, work, and on the road also increases. It is one of the most common causes of road accidents. That's why drivers are repeatedly advised to park beside the road and take a nap if they feel drowsy while driving. It's better safe than sorry.

Now, I'm doing everything to cope up with those consecutive sleepless nights. Lack of sleep can affect your daily living and if it worsened, it may affect your overall health.

Snap Out your Sleepiness

I'm very eager to change this lifestyle. I know and have experienced the effects of sleeping for a few hours. If you're feeling it too, let's snap out our sleepiness together.

Avoid the tempting snooze button. ⏰

No. Don't try to click that snooze button in your alarm. I know it's very tempting especially when you feel like you're still not prepared for getting up in the morning. However, going back to bed means fragmented sleep which can cause fatigue later in the day. And besides, it is better to stay wake up after your REM (Rapid Eye Movement) cycle.

REM sleep is a period of sleep that is very deep, during which your eyes and muscles make many small movements.

www.collinsdictionary.com/amp/english/rem

Make your Bed. 🛏

Oh, I feel like I was a mom telling my children their morning duties, but this is helpful. If you want to stay awake in the daytime, make your bed first so it will help you to start your day, this will certainly get you ready for your household chores and can even boost your mood.

Take a walk early in the morning. 🚶‍♂️

I always do this I do it daily if the weather is fine. Having a short walk even just outside, on your lawn or the garden will help you to boost your mood too. Enjoy the fresh morning air especially if you're lucky to live in a community near nature. If you're living in an urban area, you can take a walk near the parks or footwalks. This will also help you to exercise your stiff muscles after your sleep. Also, sunlight can help increase your body’s serotonin levels, which not only helps improve your sleep but also provides you fuel during the day.

Eat your Breakfast. 🍱

Some of us due to busy schedules will choose to eat easy and no-need to cook foods. Such as bread, doughnuts, or biscuits, etc. Just because you are in a hurry especially in the mornings, doesn't mean you have to settle with unhealthy options. Never skip your breakfast, always remember that we get our energy from the foods we consume. It’s also important to eat before you start moving around since this helps you burn calories. Eat something healthy such as whole grains and eggs.

Less Coffee ☕

I am a coffee lover and I can't deny it. Before I can consume 3-4 cups of coffee a day. However, I changed my lifestyle as I became a mother. A cup of coffee is undeniable helps in boosting our day. And somehow, it became a part of the “daily routine” of most people, including me. Yet, too much caffeine can bring about fatigue later in the day. That's why you should take coffee in moderation.

Have a bite of a Dark Chocolate. 🍫

After your morning meal, why not have a bite of dark chocolate for dessert. It is delicious, but it's not only because of that. Dark chocolate is filled with iron, which gives oxygen to your red blood cells and prevents you from feeling exhausted or weak. Have you tasted it? that bitter taste? It's theobromine that gives dark chocolate its bitter taste and it stimulates the central nervous system to help give you energy.

Make a good conversation. 💬

If you're feeling sleepy, make a good conversation with someone. This can help get your mind to be active as well. I know it's very hard to pay attention if you're drowsy especially when you feel that heaviness in your eyelids, however, making a good conversation with someone might help to snap out your drowsiness. Have an interesting subject to share so it will catch your attention and interest.

Mind Stimulation. 📖

Sometimes all you need to do is a little “mind over matter”/to start your day. Occasionally, just telling yourself that you are a morning person is all you need to start believing it yourself. Try. to read some books you wouldn't commonly read. Or try to exercise your mind by solving puzzles or riddles. It helps your mind to be strengthened and boosted during the day.

Change your Daily Routine. 📝

Have you ever noticed that you're getting bored with doing the same thing over and over again? Doing stuff consecutively daily, you just don't expect different results from it. Doing the same things over and over again will lose your interests and drastically affects your mood too. A change in your to-do list will help you to stay active and be interested especially in doing new things. There's no doubt that we may feel the excitement of doing something new to us. Don't just stick on your daily menu, instead try to jot down and do new engaging tasks too.

Take a Nap to Take the Edge Off Sleepiness 😪

Napping isn't bad as long as you won't take more than one and don’t take it too close to your bedtime. According to Barry Krakow, MD, author of Sound Sleep, Sound Mind: Seven Keys to Sleeping Through the Night, “Nap between five and 25 minutes”. If you want to fight sleepiness, one of the best things to do is to take a nap.

“If you can’t nap, even resting quietly with your eyes closed for 10 minutes or so will help,” says Allison T. Siebern, Ph.D.

Limit your Screen-time 📵

Give your eyes a break from your screen. Too much exposure to a computer or phone screen can cause eye strain (it is when your eyes get tired from intense use) and it worsens drowsiness and fatigue.

Light-up your Place💡

Turn on the lights in your place because even being in a dimly lighted room can cause fatigue. Try to fill your room with bright lights to keep you active and alert. Open your windows and let the sunlight enter your room. Or prefer to stay outside the house to be exposed to the bright sunshine.

Drink Plenty of Water 🥤

Water plays a vital role in our overall health. Keep yourself hydrated because dehydration can cause weariness too. Drink plenty of fluids and eat foods such as fruits and vegetables that are high in water.

Listen to lively music 🎧

My Music Library

I often do this at home. Especially when I feel sleepy at a moment, I turned on my music library on my phone and chose my favorite songs. The music sang by Jon Bon Jovi, MLTR, Steven Tyler, Nazareth, Bryan Adams, A rocket to the Moon, Boys like Girls, etc. Those singers mostly sang lively melodies that can help in boosting my mood.

No doubt that sleepiness can affect your daily activities and your productivity. Sometimes it can be irritating especially when you're trying to accomplish something. That's what I felt when I am eager to write an article, but can't focus because of my drowsiness. Most people may experience tho in their life, however, try to snap out your sleepiness and find the root cause of it.

“Sleep is the golden chain that ties health and our bodies together.” — Thomas Dekker

“Happiness consists of getting enough sleep. Just that, nothing more.” — Robert A. Heinlein

Image from Everyday Power

Better sleep gives rise to better mornings, bringing your goals into focus and dreams within reach. Don't let your sleepiness interfere with your daily activities.

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

*Images from Unsplash

Related Article:

What's your sleep problem?


5
$ 3.56
$ 3.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Writing, Life, Experience

Comments

Seriously , sleeping is also part of nature thing that cannot cheated once we had less we less function, i wanted to take out the habit of sleeplessness but till now i haven't rid of it and it's suck, I'll try and emmulate the habit you outline in your article may be it will help. Thanks for this piece.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know why your comment was marked as spam. It seems that you commented related to my article. By the way, sorry for that. And thank you for your comment dear. I hope it helps you in getting rid of your drowsiness at day time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously , i don't know what's wrong ,all my comment is always mark as spam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As for me napupuyat talaga ako minsan kaka read.cash, at dahil maaga din ang gising mga 4:30 or 5 may tindahan kasi kami kaya maaga dapat magbukas. Kaya minsan pah nagpupuyat ako, ang iba talaga sa pakiramdam, ang bigat ng katawan tapos masakit ulo, tapos ung mata ko parang ang bigat din, antok kasi, pero nakakatulog naman ako sa tanghali kaya nababawi, share ko lang hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dati sguro nakakapagpuyat pako sa readcash, pero now madalang na huhu. Super busy na talaga. Same tayo ng nararamdaman, sobrang bigat din ng katawan ko. Pero di ako nakakabawi sa tanghali o hapon, 24/7 kasi duty ko sa mga junakis ko. 😅 Tapos pag sapit ng gabi, sulat naman ako articles, mnsan di ko tlaga mtapos tpos, minsan kulang yung 2 o 3 araw sa isang article lng. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yan lang, di rin ikaw makaka focus sa read.cash kasi need mag focus kina baby. Kaya nga mula ngayon tutulog na ulit ako ng maaga. Pati nagkakaroon na naman ako ng tagihawat sa nuo kaya need talaga matulog na ng maaga. Nag momodule na din ba sina baby mo? Ang hirap nyan, kaya ayaw ko pa magka baby 😖, mahilap 😖. Ako nga na walang baby hirap gumawa mg article, inaabot ng ilang oras sakin, kaya lalo ma sayo pero mas important sina baby mo kaya dapat sila muna unahin 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Napakahirap talaga for us moms na kulang sa tulog. wala ka energy sa umaga at kung meron man,napakabilis mo naman madrain. I feel lightheaded din.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hayss so true mommy damelimdz. Nung time na antok talaga ako pati mga kids ko napapagalitan ko bigla. Nakakaguilty talaga pag gnun. Stressing tlaga pag kulang sa pahinga. Kaya kung antok na ko di ko na pinipilit mgising, pati kasi duties ko as a mom naaapektuhan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true,,,

$ 0.00
3 years ago