Show Respect Even to People Who don't Deserve it

24 905
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

November 3, 2020

Tuesday

“It was the same day where I have experienced one of the most hurtful parts in my life as a person.”

In life, we cannot please everyone. We cannot let them like us the way we want them to. We cannot tell them how to react, think, or act towards us. We cannot control how they speak towards others about us. That's the reality of life and we can't hide the truth that people, you, me, and every one of us has their way of thinking. As the hands of the clock keep on moving, days, weeks, and years have passed, we encountered hardships, hindrances, and criticisms from other people.

Image from Pixabay

No matter how good or what good you have done in life, people will always say something about you, something negative towards you. As we can't control their actions and words, we can always make ourselves better. Not for them, but for yourself. There are some circumstances in life where people will criticize you and throw stones against you. But you can always ignore them, however, we can't hide the fact that sometimes we can't let it pass through easily. That honestly, we are hurt and affected even in a little way, we're just humans after all. Some people will be disrespectful to you but it doesn't mean you have to be disrespectful too.

So you may think that why you should respect them if they didn't respect you in the first place?

It's not that you must accept their opinions, but it is to show them that you're not in the same boat with them. Showing respect is for everyone, maybe it is just for me, I don't know if you'll agree, but always show respect even to people who don't deserve it. Showing respect to them doesn't mean to pleased them, nor ignore everything they've said and done. It's like you're freeing yourself from hatred and heavy burdens within your heart. Though it may sound easy said than done, I can attest to it.

Showing respect for them seems like forgiving. I will never forget what someone has done against me, but I still give them respect. For they are just human just like me. I know people sometimes commit mistakes and some made a rush and careless decisions and who am I to judge them?

Honestly, respect is not necessarily about the person receiving it, but it was a mirror of your personality, your character. Maybe not all people don't deserve it, the criminals, rapists, murderers, or whatever kind of sinners, but if we choose to become a bigger person we can, and continue to treat everyone with the utmost respect life will be lighter and stress-free.

“Throughout life people will make you mad, disrespect you, and treat you bad. Let God deal with the things they do, cause hate in your heart will consume you too.” ~ Sanj Chaudhary

Respect is something that is earned and that's how we people think and deal with it, however, I always think that it can also something to be given heartedly. To be honest, I'm not a good person as what you'd think of me. No, I'm not an angel nor holy, I commit mistakes, I sometimes have foolish decisions, do something wrong but I never disrespect someone.

“You even have nothing to be proud of!”

Hearing those words while fingers were pointing to me, feels like I was stabbed right in front of my eyes. It's one of the most unforgettable words someone has said to me. Instead of adding fuel to the fire, I just kept my feet on the ground, be sensible and realistic. I can't answer a mad person with madness too. I let the situation cool off, and afterward, I asked for an excuse for what happened. No, I never have forgotten it, the words and everything they did, but I won't let myself to be on their level. On how they treat people like trash. I don't want to be disrespectful and arrogant just like them. After that afternoon, I always prayed to clear their hearts and mind. And asked questions, what did I've done wrong against them? Because I became a mother at a young age, it doesn't mean that they must belittle me and treat me like garbage. However, it can't be the reason for me to disrespect them.

No doubt that you may have mixed emotions (just like what I have before) when someone disrespects you. It is hard to stay cool in that circumstance but that's vital to forget and leave your well-being and dignity in hand. If you've been disrespected by someone too, someone who's close to you, you can use these manners to manage their disrespect the right way.

Be an example to others. As you give respect to people, you also want to be respected. Always set as an example of stability and exceptionalism, we can create a barrier that protects us from the criticisms of others. Before you asked for respect, you have to show that you're worth receiving it. Be a person of your word, and strive to do what’s best for you and others at all times. Once you respect yourself by living with integrity, and sincerity, you’ll gain the respect of others too.

Pull yourself away from rude and disrespectful people if you can. We know that these individuals are everywhere, and occasionally there' as little, you can do to settle problems with them. In life, people may upset one another, learn to have a space to avoid these circumstances to try circumstances with the benefit of your space.

Ask if you have questions rather than tell, and refrain from putting the blame or point fingers against someone. For me, everything will be resolved easily with a calm talk. Let your anger subside, everyone has the right of being listened to, so let them have their say, and then respond slowly with your questions. Though you may feel unjust, you can tell your side, but never rudely insist it. Just listening is often the first step to finding a resolution to make the situation better.

You can have to take the initiative if you want to get things well. Pile up your courage and meet them face to face. Speak straight and frankly, but avoid blaming wordings and phrases that put you above the conversation. Start speaking and take the initiative to open up a conversation you both can manage.

By practicing a little empathy, you can get past and overcome someone disrespectful to you. Always give them the benefit of the doubt.

Why they do this?

Where are they coming from?

You can always try to look at things from a different perspective. Maybe they're upset because of someone or something that has happened and you are there to receive their resentment. Sometimes, disrespect is a result of a stressful life too. We have to understand where they’re coming from and do our best, to be honest, and open in the way that we deal with them and the situation.

“Show respect to people who don't even deserve it; not as a reflection of their character, but as a reflection of yours.”

– Dave Willis

Sadly, our society is no longer one that values compassion. However, earning respect takes integrity and it takes knowing how to address both yourself and others.

When somebody disrespects you, honestly, it was a hard pill to swallow, but learning to overcome that disrespect is possible with a small understanding, compassion, kindness, and the understanding that not everything is as simple as it seems and falls to our expectations.

@eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

21
$ 3.40
$ 3.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @gerl
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

This is so true.. Be respectful even if others are not, can not, and will not... The only way to gain respect from others is to show respect to them..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right. You'll definitely gain peacefulness in life if you know that you're doing things right. Giving compassion and kindness even to the unkind. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed.. Iilan nlng mga tao na ganyan... Usually kpg walang respeto ang tao hndi rn magpapakita ng respeto..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Follow your happiness, people have always something to say anyway. Respect and don't expect the same respect you've given. Live your life to the fullest because you are the one responsible for your own. Respect others and yourself as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, no matter how good you treat them they will always see something wrong in you. That's why I never expect too much, it was closer to the failure of expectations. I'm just living my life for myself and my family. They're my priorities now, other people's opinion against me doesn't matter as long as I'm not doing anything wrong and I'm doing my thing with dignity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right and keep it up! Some people only see you when you're useful to them but disregard you after. You can't be wrong with family they're your priority and don't forget yourself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes mommy, I'll always think of that too. Now, I know what my priorities are, it's easy for me to focus in life. And I'm glad my views and perspective in life's on the brighter side. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We really cannot please everyone nor control them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and that's the reality of life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article,keep it up and

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can do that, respect them even if they didn't even deserve it. I do it not because it's the best thing to do but, I don't want hatred to take over my heart, I just don't want to think of anything, just do whatever they want .

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I'm like that too dear. I don't want hate and anger swallow me. I just want a peaceful life and lessen my stresses. I know that maybe they'll realize it later on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope they realize that really. Some people think of themeselves as perfect, you know they are always right, wvwn id really not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't let other people take away the good in you, just be who you are whatever they are doing to you

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You're absolutely right. It's not their character that matters when you show respect, it's yours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is true. Most times we do this, not just for them, but for ourselves. We cannot change who we are bcos someone is less of us. We ought to show respect to those underserving too.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You're right, every living deserves to be respected. No matter what nationality, what skin color, gender, age, despite some people are against us, showing them respect mirrors you not them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We should teach love and not hate anyone but we have a duty to respect those who deserve love and respect and we should treat them with respect.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Absolutely, it's not because it is the best thing to do but because it is the right thing. Though, in this society only less practice this but a small act of compassion and kindness has a big impact.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are some circumstances in life where people will criticize you and throw stones against you. But you can always ignore them, however, we can't hide the fact that sometimes we can't let it pass through easily. That honestly, we are hurt and affected even in a little way, we're just humans after all. Some people will be disrespectful to you but it doesn't mean you have to be disrespectful too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this seems like the saying something like " you never know what someone else is going through". As in, someone who doesn't seem to deserve your respect might be acting out of sorts because of something happening in their life separate from you. They might not want it to affect you, or even realize it is, but they too are human and might need a safe place to be able to come back to being themselves.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

True. That is why always look for a new perspective, and give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe there are certain reasons why they do it against you. And as human, try to be considerate though it is hard to swallow, if you want a more peaceful life, forgive and let go of the hatred.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is true. Assumption is never a right approach. Never assume they are just bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago