How Motherhood changed my Life

6 26
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

We all know that mothers are real-life superheroes. They sacrifice everything and offered their lives for their family. Being a mother is really not easy.

But before, I have no idea what do mothers really do. I barely remember the times I felt the care of my mother, or what did she do to in making our foods. I was raised by my father when I was eight years old. My father is a workaholic, he's a public teacher and he has more time at school than his children. That's how our life is, as a broken family. I grew up without a mother and it was really tough.

I used to dream of having my own family and have children of my own, but I fear to let them experience what I have experienced before. But destiny is really playful, I never thought it could happen this early. Even though I have an unplanned pregnancy, still I have no reason for regrets. I never regret it at all.

Motherhood changed my whole life in an instant. I can't sum up everything but let me share with you how it changed my life.

Me and My Baby's throwback Picture

I became a mother at the age of 21, yes I was a young mother. But I know there are more younger mothers than I was.

I eventually stopped working and did not renew my job contract after I found out that I was pregnant. I was totally excited and quite exaggerated about my pregnancy. I read various blogs and articles about motherhood. I always checked and search from the internet my unusual feelings and odd experiences during my pregnancy. I ensured that before I gave birth, I am prepared myself for my future motherly duties. I have no mother beside me to assist and help me with what to do. Although we can contact each other via messenger, I don't want to bother her about my motherly responsibilities.

After I gave birth to my firstborn son and it changed my whole life completely. My life became totally different from then.

My son was born normal and healthy. Since day one of his birth, I chose to breastfeed him. It was hard but I want to give what's best for him. I did anything and everything I can just to make my milk supply substantial and abundant. At first, I wanted to give up but I can't hold it. I wanted all the best for my son, and breastmilk is what's best for babies, that's what I really believe.

I don't care if I will become 'losyang', or forget to take care of my physical appearance, if that's what other people will look at me, it's fine what's important for me that time is my son.

I can't imagine before how mothers do all the works, now after I became a mother I know the exact feelings and how heavy is the responsibilities and duties of a mother. I have lots of sleepless nights, especially if my son got sick. I can't sleep and always checked him from time to time.

If before, I enjoyed long hours of sleep, after I became a mom, I can't even get a full 8hrs of sleep. Yes, it's true I oftentimes woke up so early in the morning, I was even awoken before the sun rises and before the rooster's crow. There are times I forgot my meals, especially my coffee.

Every morning I love to sip a cup of coffee, but after I became a mom, I usually forgot my coffee when I'm busy taking care of my son, and when I remembered it, it was already cold.

Of course, motherhood and family life doesn't always have sunshine. We have had our bad days too. I remembered before, I experienced post-partum depression, but thankfully my partner helped me to cope up with it.

There are times when my college friends wanted to meet up with me and invited me for some gatherings, but I ended up left at home. I can't leave our home, because I'm a mother. I can go if I wanted to, but I don't want to take risks to bring my child elsewhere. After being a mom, I barely went out of our house, I just go out if I have to do the market, or for other important matters. I eventually became a house person after.

I was always left home alone with my son, my partner works 8 hours and 6 days a week. I have no one to talked too, but I have my son and that makes me happy for the rest of the day. There are certain times that I can't take a bath, and if I do, I usually left my son asleep first. If before, I used to take a bath for 25 to 30 mins, now a 5mins or lesser for my shower time makes me happy already. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Sometimes I really forgot to take care of myself. I forgot to comb my hair, cut and clean my nails, and or totally forgot about myself. I'm giving all my time for my son, he is my greatest blessing received in my life.

โ€œWhen you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.โ€ โ€”Sophia Loren

That saying is really true. In everything that I will do, I need to think first of my child's sake. In any place that I'll go my child is with me. Sometimes, I can feel so tired it was really tiring to keep a home. However, I don't think of it as a burden, but rather I think of it as a part of me, as a mother. My priorities changed, my perspectives in life have changed.

As years passed, my son grew up and turned into a smart and clever little boy, and I am happy to tell you that I never put my hands against him. I love him with all of my heart and all of my life.

Life being a mother is like a roller coaster, you'll have your ups and downs in life. Taking care of the whole family is really hard, but in the end, it was fulfilling.

I'm not a perfect mother, I have my lapses as a mom too. It's just wonderful to think that, even though I didn't grow up with my mom, it's amazing that maternal intuition or instinct will just come across me, as you I have children of my own.

I have no regrets being a young mother, I am proud that regardless of how hard our life, I never thought of giving up in life. I have more reasons to love my life, and it is because of my family. They are my strength and my weakness. I am blessed to have a family of my own.

Being a mother is more than giving birth to a child. It's loving, caring for, and knowing the essence of life before you even see it. It's carrying and caring for a life completely dependent on you, for survival in this world. As a mother, you help to build their self-esteem, support their dreams.

I may look saggier, it may change my body, or my whole self physically, I never regret it. Motherhood changes my life and me as a person, even though I became less focused on myself but I am growing and learning to love unconditionally and understanding sacrificial love.


I hope you have a great time reading this article. This is just one part chapter of my real-life story.

Related Article:

My First Greatest Blessing

Keep in touch!

@eommaZel โœ๐Ÿป

14
$ 0.70
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

Excellent article dear. Please check my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hAha, You don't mind taking a bath just to be sure your baby is safe. You have to skip meals many times and when your baby is asleep and you do the chores swiftly because whenever he's up you can't left him. Combs are left untouched for hours ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yes. You'll definitely forget about yourself first. The baby is the first priority, it was hard especially in the first years but fun and fulfilling too. ๐Ÿ˜Šโค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The worst case I experience was during my firstborn. I have no idea about child-rearing. ๐Ÿ˜… There are times when no one to share my burden on laundry and I need to go back and forth like a whirlpool to my laundry when my baby sleeps and to my baby when she woke up.๐Ÿ˜‚ When I am eating but then the baby suddenly wanted to feed on her milk, I don't get full,๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha I've experienced the same thing. After I became a mom, I also found out that I can carry to do some works one-handed. ๐Ÿ˜… And when the night comes, that's the time where I can 'slightly' take a rest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right... with baby clinging on your hips๐Ÿ˜…. You can become multitask achiever๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago