Tips on how I saved Php 14k in a year

16 32
Avatar for ellimacandrea
3 years ago

How am I, an average earner saved 14,000 Philippine peso in 1 year?

Saving money is not easy. I have a lot of struggles in saving money when I was younger. Since I started working, I was always told by my mom to save at least Php300 every pay day. So that should be around Php600 per month. She told me to save it and make sure not to spend it.

I once told her, "Mom, I can save Php600 in one month. There's no problem with that. The problem is my urge nspending it." Then, should would scold me telling me that that isn't saving.

So I have been working for 7 years now. For the last 6 years that I worked, I didn't have any saving. Only that last year, I was able to save money because of two things.

  • First, I reduced my expenses.

  • I had an extra income.

  • I count my money every single day for 365 days.

Reduced expenses

Because I really wanted to save money, I told myself I needed to reduce my expenses. Identified my needs and separated it from my wants. Instead of buying at the pantry, I just bring my own meal. I also learned to cook for myself.

Aside from that, I also just gives in to my wants at least once a month. I think I also deserved it.

Extra income

I was working full time in a company. Good thing there was an opening as a secondment program as Process Associate. I didn't know that at first but I was shortlisted to take the exam. I took the test and passed it. I didn't expect it because it is my first time to apply for a different role in the company.

Eventually, I also past the final interview and started training. Since being a process associate requires more time and effort compared with my previous role, there is also an additional allowance. I was very thankful of course.

So I suggested, if you can, find an extra job. And any amount that you can get from that put it to your savings.

I count my money every night, every day

I searched on youtube on tips on how to save money. I cannot remember who posted it but I followed it and worked for me.

So this is what I do. I set my allowance to Php1,500 per week. And then, I count my money every night. I take out the hundreds and then the tenths I put it on my piggy bank.

For example, yesterday, I have Php1500 pesos on my wallet. I went to work. Buy some stuff and went home. When I count my money, what's left is Php 1,270 pesos. Since I take out the hundreds, I will put Php 1,200 pesos back in my wallet to spend the next day and put the Php 70 pesos on my piggy bank.

So, today, I have Php 1,200 pesos in my wallet and since I don't have work today, I only spent Php 20 pesos. So I put Php 1,100 pesos back in my wallet and save Php 80 pesos.

I started Feb 15, 2019 and I accummulated a total of Php 14,400 pesos when I opened it this year. I was so proud of myself. It was a small amount of savings but the dedication I put on it amazed me.

I also bought an Ipon or Savings can so I can track my savings.

By the end of the day, it doesn't matter how big or small you have saved. As long as you saved it doing good deeds. Just try. You can always start saving. You just really need to decide that you really wanted to save for the future.

I hope these tips can help you save money too.

:) ellimacandrea

11
$ 0.18
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @kat2x
Sponsors of ellimacandrea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ellimacandrea
3 years ago

Comments

I have this saving scheme wherein I count my money every night, then save up all my coins every night.

By the end of the year, I have saved up almost PHP 5,000. I mean, it's not huge but I'm still proud of myself, plus I didn't feel like I was saving, because for me those were just coins. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Congrats. Thats okay. 5000 is already a big amount these days. It will help a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it really does. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really good behavior of saving money .. Thanks for Sharing with us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a pleasure. I aim to help people save money too by sharing this tips. Hope it could help you. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very nice! It reminded me way back in college where I was able to save up for about 3k+ in a month 😅 this article inspires me to save more (for future and urgent needs). I've actually started saving up. Probably a month now. Long way to go, but it's all gonna be worth it! 💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good thing. I didn't have any savings when I was in college. Hahaha. The savings I had last year has help me a lot this year since we didn't have much to earn this past few months due to the pandemic. I want to start building my emergency funds but I don't know how. I'll research on that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good to have some investments especially on stock market. It's a bummer somehow that stockmarkets closed their sales during the pandemic, since a lot of people would see it as an opportunity to start investing. Haha anyhow, if you'll plan on that, it's proper to research more about stock markets and prices, where to invest, how you'll gain from it before putting you hard earned money elsewhere 😅 its a risk. But if you're with the right company, it's all worth it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there's always a risk with investment. So we should only invest what we can afford to lose. Thanks for your suggestion. Will look into that soon. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also started doing the money bank challenge for myself.. There's a lot of struggle since I get tempted to spend my money, not for my wants but I really need it badly, like when I got nothing to buy milk for my kids.

I crafted a big house money bank where I put coins and paper bill separately. It's made of carton.

For 10 years I have saved nothing for myself because I had to provide for my family. And my salary is not enough and in the end, no thing's left for me.

But now, my salary increased so I have some amounts to set aside for saving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is really good to know. That's okay. Atleast you are spending for your needs. I was a bread winner in the family too so I didn't have much savings because I am the one that sends my sibling to school. But when my brother that I help finish college is working I was able to start saving by then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! It feels good to know that you were able to help someone finish his education. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was a proud moment for me as an "Ate" in the family. Thanks! 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really like people who save than to spend useless things, as I love saving too for rainy days. Just like now, we are facing pandemic. If we able to save a little before then we have something te get in times like this. Saving is far better than having lots of debts. Keep it up 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is correct. Having a saving during this pandemic is helpfulc. Regardless if its small and little amount.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly, it's not about the amount it's about having goals to save up for the future .

$ 0.00
3 years ago