Oreo the Shihpoo to Oreo the Fighter

7 53
Avatar for ellimacandrea
2 years ago
Topics: Pet lover, Dog Lover

June 25, 2021 Friday

OREO

If you have been a follower of mine here on read.cash, you would know that we have a couple of dogs in our house. I once made an article about our 3 dogs, Spike, Ollie and Oreo. You can read the article here.

For today, I dedicate this article to our dog Oreo. I will try my best to describe him as much as I could and to tell you his experiences. I might cry in the middle of writing this but I will do this for him. From now on, I will call him Oreo the Fighter. In this article, I will tell you why I call him that.

Oreo the Shihpoo

Source

The Shih-Poo is a mixed breed dog — a cross between the Shih Tzu and Toy Poodle dog breeds. Small, hypoallergenic and cuddly companions, these pups inherited some of the best qualities from both of their parents.

Shih-Poos make great companion animals for just about anyone, but a retired senior would most likely be an ideal match. They love to be doted on, pampered, and loved. They are pretty versatile and can thrive in almost any environment–family home, apartment, or tiny house in the middle of nowhere.

Oreo is a mixed breed dog. He is a mix of Shihtzu and poodle. We got them as a companion of the kids because during those times, they are struggling emotionally and we though getting a pet would help them not be traumatized with what is happening in the family at the moment.

Like Ollie, Oreo is very playful too. He likes to run around and play with us. But unlike Ollie, Oreo always loves to cuddle and sit on our laps. He is such a sweet, sweet dog to his furmoms and siblings. Whenever I come home, I am always being welcomed by Oreo. He will jump on my legs and he wants me to carry him on my arms. Then he will lick my arms to show his affection. He only knew a little trick like sit and up. When we are feeding him, he knows how to wait. He is such a big small dog that we often call him piglet and not a dog because of his big stomach. He just eats everything and anything you give him. This is also the reason why we love to feed him. Oreo is not just a pet to us, he is a family.

This is his picture when he fur was trimmed.
Look at him chasing those flowers that my brother picked

Oreo the Fighter

Why Oreo the Fighter?

Oreo has gone through quite a lot of challenges. If I can remember it right, when he was 1 year old, he was rushed to the veterinary because he refrained from eating and he is vomiting. They wonder why. And they got worried. So they went to the vet and oreo was diagnosed with amoebiasis. I think there was a time that Oreo played with the garbage. Maybe he smelled something in there and ate it. This is how "Takaw" Oreo is. He was confined for one day and had dextrose because he is not eating or drinking water. So that he will regain his energy, he needed the confinement.

We already thought he will not make it that time because he is very weak but Oreo is really a fighter. He made it through and he survived amoebiasis. Below are some pictures of him when he was confined. He is still wagging his tails when he saw me. Cute litte Oreo!!! 😍😍😍❤️❤️

That was the first time that Oreo was hospitalized. The second one was when he fell because one of my niece (who is mentally challenged) dropped him. My niece got frustrated with Oreo because he was super noisy that night. What happened to him was his jaw was a little hurt. But he could bark. We though there was an injury in the neck but the xray didn't find any. I feel sorry for oreo that time because whenever he will move his neck, he whimpers in pain. And I can't stand to see him in pain. He didn't bark for few months. I missed those noisy barks from Oreo whenever I come home. Thank God, after a few months, he was able to bark, run and jump.

Oreo was hit by a motorcycle

Here is the latest happening to him. As you might all know as I have posted this in noise.cash, Oreo was hit by a motorcycle yesterday morning. As what my nephew told me, he was inside the house when he heard a noise. He immediately went out without wearing a face mask and no slippers and he saw Oreo that was already hit by a motorcycle. He ran to Oreo and he carried him while my cousin assisted the motorcycle rider that was thank God not that injured but the motor has some damages that we are liable to. But what we are most worried about is of course our Oreo. So, they immediately went to the vet. This was Oreos situation when they were at the vet. He has lots of bruise in the feet and breast and face. There was blood on his face too.

This was yesterday.

They went to the vet and they immediately applied a dextrose so that he will not be dehydrated. Also, since his chest was hit, Oreo was having trouble breathing so he needed oxygen. I feel so much pity for Oreo seeing him in pain. I was not able to sleep yesterday as soon as I heard the news. I cried the whole day. I was worried. I was thinking of the worst case scenario. What if he dies? 😭😭😭

But Oreo was a fighter. I know he is. He was struggling breathing but he did not give up. He just kept fighting.

This was taken few hours that they are at the vet. He was cleaned of the blood but he still need oxygen.

Thinking of the veterinary expenses, my cousin thought that they will just take Oreo home because they don't have the money for confinement. So they took Oreo home and just rented an oxygen machine.

Despite of our lack of money, we still try to help Oreo survive this. Compared to a daily confinement fee of 1200 pesos or $24 per day, we opted in to just rent out an oxygen machine for only 300 pesos or $6 per day. But during the midnight, Oreo had seizures so they went back to the vet. He was injected with pain reliever and they left oreo at the vet. Then they visited him in the morning.

Oreo was way better compared to yesterday. We know that he is fighting for his life. We know that he wants to live. Take a look at his eyes. You see the eagerness to live no matter how difficult it is. The vet is not yet certain that he will survive because of a possibility of internal bleeding. But we are hopeful that Oreo will self heal and that he will survive. But on the other hand, even if it hurts we are preparing ourselves too if in case something bad will happen to him.

Here's how Oreo is. He no longer needs Oxygen. Thank God. He can move a little but if you can notice his right side of his face, it's not normal. This is because he has a fractured jaw, fractured chest and 1rib and a dislocated shoulder cause of the accident. 🥺🥺 But look at his eyes, you can see that he is fighting. That he wants to live. His condition is not yet stable and is still under observation. 🥺🥺 We might be financially struggling right now but we will do everything we can to extend Oreo's life because he is not just a pet, he is family. 🥺🥺❤️❤️ Keep fighting Oreo! ❤️❤️🙏🙏

Help from BCH community

As I have been posting on noise.cash, all heart tips on those posts I will give to my cousin who is Oreos furmom. There was @abraxas who donated $4, @Lawa1988 donated $2 and @Jeaneth and @tired_momma that donated $1 each. Thank you so much for that. I really do appreciate your help. It means a lot to us. There are also people who heart my post and because of that I also had heart tips. At the moment, the total tips I gathered is $10.20. I was just really amazed on how the BCH community in Read.cash and noise.cash makes a difference in small little ways. I just hope that the randomrewarder will notice this so that it will have an additional donation to our Dear Oreo.

Thank you so much everyone! I hope that you will also join me in continuous prayer for Oreo's recovery. 🙏🙏🙏❤️❤️❤️

Xoxo

9
$ 14.70
$ 5.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.00 from @Jeaneth
$ 2.00 from @tired_momma
+ 4
Sponsors of ellimacandrea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ellimacandrea
2 years ago
Topics: Pet lover, Dog Lover

Comments

Mo survive lage nas Oreo miss andi. Just believe. Praying for his speedy recovery. 🙏❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala dai! Kadako sa upvote. Ulaw na kaayo ko nimo.. thank you so much.. as in, oreo is really fighting. Abi jud namo kay mawala na siya pero grabe jud iyang fighting spirit dai.. huhuhu.. thanks God pud kay miracle jud ni..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No probs miss andi. Hehe. Salig lang. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no, Oreo what a little fighter. Ang dami na nyang napag daanan madam kawawa naman. Sana naman tuluyan na syang gumaling 🤗🤗🤗🤗🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the donation madam... Huhuhu 🥺🥺 oo nga eh. Dami nya na pinagdaanan pero fighter tlg sya. Di sya sumusuko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're doing well Oreo! Keep fighting and Tired Momma is praying for your fast recovery with the great of your family!🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much tired momma for the upvote donation. 🥺🥺🙏🙏 It really means a lot to us. We're also praying that Oreo can survive this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago