IDIOMS expressing happiness

6 35
Avatar for elana
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Language, English, Idioms

Idioms are words or phrases that have some cultural meaning behind them and foreigners cannot sometimes understand them because ,they will be lost in translation if they translate every single word separately..Idioms are very often used in English written and spoken language. You have probably heard some of them in movies, or song lyrics...

When you learn English idioms and phrases you will be more confident when you want to impress some native English speaker.

There are dictionaries of idioms,some of them contain colors ,animals, phrasal verbs , but I choose today to write some idioms that express happiness. So let's enrich English vocabulary and make you sound like a native speaker.

Idioms to Express Happiness

The first one that is connected to happiness and joy is the idiom 'On cloud nine'.
Meaning: you are on the top of the world, you feel wonderful and extremely happy. We have it in the different languages. In Serbian it is 'biti na sedmom nebu'


Example: He was on cloud nine when he won the lottery.

Similar idiom is Over the moon
It also means feel on top of the world and you feel great.

Example:
Alex was over the moon when she got engaged .

Happy camper

means to be really happy. We can see the idiom in the following sentence..

Tom was a happy camper when he got to leave work early.

In seventh heaven also means to be very happy. Here is an example...

Susan was in seventh heaven when she found out she was pregnant .

There are many more idioms and expressions ,for now I will stop here. See you soon with some other idioms..


6
$ 1.65
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Grammarian
Sponsors of elana
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for elana
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Language, English, Idioms

Comments

Since I'm learning English with a child, we just came across it. It's very clear to me now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your English is progressing every day and there is always something new to learn.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If I express my mood after reading your article I'll describe I'm in the cloud number nine. I'm so happy learning these idiom's from your article.Very grateful to you for sharing a very knowledgeable article with us. Let's learn at least one thing daily.😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks so much. I really appreciate your lovely words. I learn a lot from your article too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Only in The seventh heaven I knew.English language is not my native language thatsway I am not so good for speaking or writing.But I think that I know english language so much that everyone can understand me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are good at English of course, idioms and phrasal verbs can only raise our knowledge to a higher level.

$ 0.00
3 years ago