A little memory from the past.

2 31
Avatar for elamey
Written by
3 years ago

Few years back, we went to Minalungao National Park somewhere in Nueva Ecija. It was actually unplanned. I was in my Father's hometown that time because it was summer break. I was staying at my Aunt's place along with my cousins when they decided to have a little roadtrip and go somewhere we can bond since it is summer. It was a two-hour ride from our place. A little bit exhausting but the views along the way were very entertaining.

The Minalungao National Park is centered along the Peñaranda River and bordered on both sides of the limestone walls in the foothills of the Sierra Madre mountain range. Everything about Minalungao National Park is breath-taking and very soothing.

This is the breath-taking scenery of the green pristine river along with unique rock formations. It is really a great privelege to witness such an amazing natural creation.
People were having much fun as they stroll through the river and caves. There are also people that are enjoying the waters as they float with the orange vest you can rent.

Remembering the smiles of these people reminds me how I miss the normal living. How I miss the smiles behind every mask these people have. Those were priceless memories.

As we enjoy the view while crossing the hanging bridge, we tried to jump a little to loosen ourselves. To feel the blood rushing through our veins. It was funny because we were yelled at by our Auties, especially me becaue I am the one who started it. They were a bit scared and nervous to cross the bridge, though they tried halfway and they went back and chose to just enjoy the view back to the cottage, I am proud still.

My cousins and I crossed the bridge and see what's over there. We asked some of the staffs in-charge and told us other activities we can try. They said that we could try ziplining and or the thousand steps stairway to reach The Cross on the top of the hill.

Can you see me? All ears happy. At first I was hesitant to go and take a thousand steps to reach the cross because it was a very sunny day. It is very hot. Plus, I thought of the back-and-forth scenario, it was overwhelming. But I took a deep breathe and just took the steps. I was with few of my cousins along with our nieces and it was fun because we were sharing some thoughts on the way to the top.

Half-way reaching the top of the hill, we realized that we forgot to bring ourselves some water to drink. One of my cousins have his own but it was already half-empty. We laughed because we realized that we were not really prepared but still, we continued our smal journey. There were some people we come across the stairway and smiled to them. We asked if there was some water vendor at the top, and they kindly said yes there was.

Look at us, smiles of victory. Can you believe it these kids had the guts to take the thousand of steps? I am so proud though I had to carry one of the kids that got tired. It was okay because she was not heavy, thank goodness.

You can also noticed that we are also sunburned because we did not thought of putting sun screen first. We weren't prepared at all, except for my two cousins who had their sunglasses on, real smooth.

We took photos for memories. It was really memorable because we don't get to do this kind of thing often because we live in different cities. And was just one of the fortunate summer where we could spend some time together. I wish I had my sisters with me. I was only the one who really took vacation in my Father's hometown very often since i was a kid because I was the youngest then, plus when the time I had a younger sister, our age gap was 7 years apart.

After we went to The Cross, we went back down and decided to take the zipline, but only with my cousins because they did not allowed the children under age 12 to go. IT WAS REALLY FUN, I CANNOT LIE. At first we had trouble talking our cousin into it. She was a bit scared to try it. We told her she was gonna be okay. We asked the staff in-charge if it was really safe, he assure us that it was.

We ziplined, baby! HAHAHA

My cousin who I gone with took a video of us using her phone but I atually did not get to see it until now. But, whatever, I am still happy to get to experience such thing. It was a very fun time. We did not get to do this much as we grow old and apart from each other. We only see each other once or twice a year since our Tatang(Grandpa) and Ina(Grandmom) died.

We really are hoping that after this pandemic, we will continue to spend time a bit more. Share memories together and appreciate life even more.


This is one of the memories I will always try to remind myself of. It's amazing that there were feelings left. The feeling of excitement and fun. It was nice to to be reminded that life is short but it is precious.

Keep those memories alive, my dear friends.

Please be safe! You matter!

xoxo, your moonchild friend.

6
$ 5.85
$ 5.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
Avatar for elamey
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

nakakamiss.. nakakamiss ang mamasyal.. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

saya namarns! huy nakakamiss na nga talaga. dami nang outings na nacancel. pandemic, matapos ka na!

$ 0.00
3 years ago