What it always feels like to be a newcomer

4 36
Avatar for el-flame
2 years ago
Topics: Justwrite

So as stated in the title about being a newcomer well I'm new here, and it is sometimes difficult for the newcomers. And to my knowledge this is something some of us have faced at a certain point in time.

One would often wonder what it is one should do being new no matter where it is one is in. So right now I'm so not sure what to even write, I'm basically just beating around the bush here cause frankly I am spaced out on what to write, and typing it out now is hilarious if I do say so myself, well in this case if I do "type" so myself. And before anyone reads this and wonder what in Gods name I'm typing, I made that quip on purpose lol.

Now that that's been said(typed), there are different ways in which people react to being new to something or somewhere all boils down to the kind of person they are.

Here are some typical examples of the type of young people there are:

•THE CINFIDENT ONE: That one person, let me use a typical high(secondary) school setting. Who comes from a good home, wealthy parents, etc. He/she basically gets what they want when they want it, now he/she gets to a new place they find it easy to mingle, belong, make friends, being in a new setting is never a problen for them they always end up the popular kid one could easily say its their nature, they always know what to say or do. I obviously don't belong in this category lol, okay moving on.

•THE AVERAGE ONE: A lot of people fall under this category, when people in this category get to a new setting, mingling doesn't come as easy as it does for the confident cool kid. Doing things at this stage takes a while, can't just stand up in the class and answer questions, a little bit of shyness sets in at first but doesn't take long to vanish. At the end of it all though the average ones have the most friends, they participate in almost everything sports, extracurricular activities,favorite student of teachers, class captains, prefects etc. I can't personally relate though I was never the average kid in sec school either.

•THE ONES WHO ALWAYS WANT TO BELONG: Now this type of people are usually unpopular, but they actually want to be. We can easily say they are the not so good looking students in class, but they try any means possible to try to get along with the rich & average kids. All this cause they need validation to feel good about themselves cause they think belonging to a cool group would make them feel better about themselves rather than just hang out withone another, problem solved they have a group but nope it has to be the cool kids. Okay enough of me making them look bad I was only being honest, anyway before you wonder that it seems I know so much about them so I should be one, nah guess again I also don't belong here.

•THE LONERS: The one set of individuals who are very little in some settings aren't more than 2,3 or at the most 4 in a class. They don't even try to mingle cause it is futile to do so, socializing is their thing, they are usually the ugliest in class or perhaps the not so brilliant ones, always coming last in class , aren't exactly good at sports or any other thing that can bring them closer to other kids. They get bullied easily not so much physically but emotionally... The emotional part is more common in Nigeria that the physical part. Never liked by girls, hardly ever invited to hangouts or any other thing the other kids do, usually very sad but we all turn out okay in the end. And yeah i used we so i do belong here, well when i was in secondary school anyway, it was a rough, tough time indeed.

Hopefully y'all remember I used a secondary school setting. And all of this has just been me trying to come up with my first article here, hopefully I see some positive comments on this, could be negative lool, cause at this point I'm still just down for the comments

Not to worry I'd make better articles as I move along. Thanks for reading

Sponsors of el-flame
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 1.10
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Lara888
Sponsors of el-flame
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for el-flame
2 years ago
Topics: Justwrite

Comments

I am most definitely a loner absolutely 100% mostly because I tend to keep to myself but once you find the right people a loner can become a very social person just like me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really, nice that you found your person, I'm still searching on that front. Anyway thanks for the reply its highly appreciated

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No need to worry, all new visitors here are very welcome and receive support and encouragement my friend, you are welcome here waiting for your articles!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot I appreciate the heart felt welcome.. I'll check out some of your articles as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago