FOODlog #93: Indonesian Ayam Penyet with Rice

0 9
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Last week me and my wife got to go out together on a date while my Mum took care of our children at home. We don't get to go out just the two of us as frequently as before we had children so we really treasure these times we do get to go out. We even got to go to 2 separate places for dinner since I wanted to eat 'Ayam Penyet' and she wanted to eat some Taiwanese street food.

I've been wanting to eat 'Ayam Penyet' for some time now and since we passed by a shop in the mall that serves it, it was a good opportunity to have it. 'Ayam Penyet' is an Indonesian cuisine dish that's chicken that's been marinated with herbs and spices then boiled until the meat is tender. After which it is then smashed and the deep fried and served with some vegetables, white rice, and their famous Indonesian 'sambal'.

Logo on their menu
Ayam Penyet
Ayam Penyet Full Set Meal

The 'sambal' has fresh chili and also tomatoes that's been pounded in a special type of pestle and mortar. It's seasoned with salt to taste and pairs really great with the chicken. The 'sambal' was spicy as expected and also has a jam like texture and sweetness from the tomatoes.

The meal also came with a side of soup.

Savory Chicken Soup

After my dinner we went to get some drinks from a shop next door and I got myself this interesting chocolate flavored drink. I thought there would be cereal like oat bits in it but it's basically a malt chocolate drink. Thumbs up on taste.

Chocolate Milk Malt Drink

1
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments