FOODlog #84: Lamb Stew with Potatoes

0 6
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Cooked lunch for my family 2 weeks ago. My Mum bought some lamb shoulder chops so I used that to make a lamb stew that we ate with rice.

I first started by marinating the lamb chops in a marinade I made with soy sauce, oyster sauce, dark soy sauce, salt and pepper, and smoked paprika. I packed it in a zip lock bag and left it in the fridge overnight to marinade.

Lamb Shoulder Cuts
Marinated Lamb Shoulder Cuts

In the morning I prepped the vegetables, roughly chopping up onions, carrots, and celery and also some potatoes. I normally cook this in a pot for some hours but decided to use the pressure cooker since it takes much shorter time to get the lamb tender. In the pressure cooker I lined the bottom with the vegetables then 2 lamb chops and then vegetables again and another 2 lamb chops. I'm not sure whether this makes a difference but I was thinking it'll let all the flavors mix with each other better.

Vegetables to prep
Into the pressure cooker

I then added some water cover just slightly above the lamb chop and then cook it in the pressure cooker for about 45 minutes. After that was done, I removed the liquid from the pot into a sauce pan and reduced it while mixing in a roux of flour and the lamb fat that surfaced on top. You get a really delicious gravy doing this and so good eating this with rice.

Lamb Stew with Potatoes

Everything was perfectly tender although the next time I do it, I'll leave the potatoes out of the pressure cooker and cook it together with the gravy because the potatoes were slightly breaking apart. I think cooking it separately will allow you to control the tenderness of the potato better and adjust it to your preference. But asides from that, it was a success cooking this lamb stew in the pressure cooker.

1
$ 0.63
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments