FOODlog #82: Carbonara Maccheroni with Cured Liver Sausage

0 11
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

I had some leftovers of these beautiful Maccheroni pasta from cooking bolognese the other day so I used it to make a simple dinner for myself. It's a 1 portion meal for me so it took me about 5 minutes to make it coz my pasta was already cooked and all I need to make was a sauce.

Maccheroni Pasta

I took some leftovers from a lunch dish my Mum made that had slices of pork cooked with garlic and tomatoes and then heated it up in a pan with some cured Chinese pork liver sausages. These liver sausages are super savory and has a really nice earthy flavor and sweetness to it when you heat it up. So instead of bacon, pancetta, or guanciale, I used the cured pork liver as a replacement. Since these ingredients are cured meat, I figured it'll work well and it did!

For my sauce, I made a carbonara cream with 1 egg and a heap of parmesan cheese and seasoned it with salt and also some water to loosen up the carbonara cream. I didn't have any black pepper so I guess I missed out one of the main and important ingredient of a classic carbonara but oh well, it tasted good at the end.

Carbonara with Cured Pork Liver Sausage

So after everything was prepped, I added the maccheroni pasta to my cured pork liver sausage and heated it up. Once it was heated up, I turned off the heat and stirred in the carbonara cream into the pasta.

I then plated it up on a nice black plate to contrast the colors of the pasta. The pasta tasted so good and the cured liver sausage paired perfectly with the pasta giving it savory and sweet elements with the combination of the parmesan and egg carbonara sauce. Absolutely delicious!

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments