FOODlog #79: Smoked Salmon Carbonara @ Kings Hall Cafe

0 10
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Two Monday's ago there was a public holiday in my country. So happen my wife's brother was in town for a sneaker deal and he had some free time before his flight back to Sibu in East Malaysia where he works. We met up with him for lunch at a place called Kings Hall.

It's a modern but simple looking place that serves fusion food inspired by Japanese, Malaysian, and Western cuisine.

For my lunch, I ordered their 'Smoked Salmon Carbonara' which was a recommended on their menu. It was a carbonara that had a soft-boiled egg with ebiko and smoked salmon on top. They used linguini for their pasta of choice and the dish lots of black pepper which they were generous with. I really liked the smoked salmon combo with the carbonara sauce but thought it could've used a little more salt as I felt it was a little under taste for my liking.

Smoked Salmon Carbonara

My wife ordered their 'Dry Udon' which comes with a soft-boiled egg too, some sauteed mushrooms and bonito flakes. A simple dish but the combination of flavors do work quite well with each other. She also commented that the food was under taste so I guess it's on purpose that they make food with this level of saltiness perhaps being a health conscious eatery.

Dry Udon

For my kids, we got them the 'Fishie Bowl' which was basically a Poke Bowl with more of their yummy smoked salmon, ebiko, edamame, pesto, mushrooms and sauteed capsicum. My kids finished their food so I'm guessing they did like it. It was also really colorful which I think is very pretty and pleasing to the eye.

Fishie Bowl

My brother-in-law got himself a 'Teri-Salmon Rice' which was rice topped with torched salmon, homemade teriyaki sauce, and bonito flakes.

Teri-Salmon Rice

Asides from their food what I liked about the place was the kitchen was nicely set up. It's an open kitchen with a simple homestyle kitchen hood which I think is smart and economical. The toilet was also clean and well upkept. The staff were friendly. Although it's a self-service sort of cafe, the staff did help me carry the food to my table since I had more food than my hand could carry.

Front Entrance

I didn't try any drinks so I can't comment on that. They had plain water that you could refill for yourself which is nice. Overall everything was nice and decent.

Recommended to give their food a go.

Food Menu
Drinks Menu
Smoked Salmon Carbonara & Dry Udon

1
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments