FOODlog #74: Maccheroni Bolognese

0 9
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Cooked for my family some Maccheroni Bolognese last week for lunch before going for basketball in the evening. My sons don't really like to eat pasta so I don't usually cook pasta for them. It's been quite awhile since I last cooked pasta so I guess it's a good change to have some pasta for our meal.

I started the base of my bolognese sauce by frying off in a pan some minced pork on high heat. I didn't add any oil to the pan as my mince pork was quite fatty and sauteed the mince to render the fat and let it cook in it's own oil. I then seasoned it with salt and pepper and cooked it until golden brown. After browning the meat, I removed it from the pan while retaining the oil that was rendered from the mince.

I then started sauteing some onions, carrots, and celery that I roughly diced. I cooked them for about 5 minutes and seasoned them with salt and pepper after which I transferred everything to my pressure cooker along with 670ml of crushed tomatoes.

I normally cook bolognese in a pot or pan for hours so I wanted to try to use the pressure cooker and see if there was and difference in taste. I cooked it in the pressure cooker for about 30-40 minutes and then I removed it and transferred the bolognese to a pan and added some milk and pasta water in it.

For the maccheroni, I cooked it in a large pot with salted water until it was al dente. I then added the pasta to the sauce and let it cook for another 2-3 minutes and add the final seasonings to taste.

Maccheroni Pasta

After plating the pasta, I sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top and served it. It tasted like the usual bolognese I cook in a pan. I'll want to try to cook bolognese in a pot for 6-8 hours next time and see how it taste with the long hours of cooking low and slow. That'll be my next experiment in achieving the ultimate bolognese.

Maccheroni Bolognese with Parmesan Cheese
Maccheroni Bolognese

1
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments