FOODlog #68: Char Kuey Teow with Duck Egg

0 14
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Went to brunch with my cousin from Singapore last week who was in town for the week. I haven't seen him for 2 and a half years due to all the travel restrictions and covid lockdowns so was a good time to hangout and catchup after so long. He's 8 years younger than me and now my son goes to the same primary school that he used to attend.

We had lunch at a local coffee shop nearby where I live that has some good food there. There is a hawker from Penang that has been there for years cooking 'char kuey teow' which can rival Penang 'char kuey teow'. He now operates not just his small stall but also a shop lot where he rents out some space to other hawkers as well as operating his own drinks stall now.

Char Kuey Teow with Duck Egg

I got for myself a plate of 'char kuey teow' with added fried duck egg. The noodles have a smokey charred aroma from the flat rice noodles being fried in a wok on an open flame. The noodles are seasoned with dark soy sauce, pork lard oil, soy sauce, minced fresh garlic and fresh chili paste. It has fresh prawns, chives, beans sprouts, and fried egg that's tossed in together with the noodles.

Close up of Char Kuey Teow

For my drink, I ordered a cup of iced sweet barley which is just barley that's been cooked with a sugar syrup water and then chilled. A refreshing drink although this one here was quite bland in taste.

Iced Sweet Barley Drink

Still the best thing to order at this place is their 'char kuey teow' which doesn't disappoint. And that's coming from a person who doesn't really like 'char kuey teow'.

2
$ 0.68
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments