FOODlog #58: Ribeye Steak with Whiskey Cream Mushroom Sauce

0 11
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Was clearing my kitchen cabinet and found this bottle of really good whiskey that I had way back from when one of my friends got married. They had some unopened bottles left after their wedding so I took home a bottle and it's been sitting in my kitchen cabinet for years.

Decided to use it for a dish for cooking and since I got some ribeye steaks from my brother, I cooked a medium rare steak with a whiskey cream mushroom sauce. I don't often use alcohol in my cooking but this was a good experience and hope to use more of it in my cooking.

THE STEAK

The ribeye steak was about 1+ inches thick and I simply cooked it with salt and pepper on both sides on a oiled panned for about 2:30 minutes on each side. I then added some butter and garlic in to the pan an basted my steam for another 20-30 seconds, flipping it and doing the same on the other side then removing it from the pan to a board to rest for 10 minutes.

For resting steaks, or meat such as roast, you should rest it as long as it was cooked at least or even double of the cooking time before slicing into it. This will allow the meat to relax and the juices to redistribute throughout the entire meat and will have a much more juicy piece of meat when you slice and eat.

THE SAUCE

For the sauce, I sliced up some shallots and used some enoki mushrooms which I happen to have in the fridge. I sauteed them with some oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. I then added in the whiskey and let it cook for about 5 minutes to let the alcohol evaporate. I then used evaporated milk (you could use cream/milk), and let it continue to reduce. The amount of whiskey should be about 1:10 ratio of the cream.

Next, it's ready to slice the ribeye and spoon the sauce over, plate up, and enjoy. The ribeye was cooked perfectly medium-rare which is my wife's favorite. The meat was tender, juicy, and seasoned nicely. The whiskey in my sauce was way too overpowering as I added a little too much whiskey and my cream ratio wasn't quite right which is why I know now that the ratio should be 1:10 of whiskey to cream XD

1
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments