FOODlog #57: Ribeye Beef Bulgogi

0 5
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Cooked lunch for my family 2 weeks ago and I made Korean beef bulgogi. It's a Korean stir fry dish using beef and some simple ingredients such as soy sauce, sesame oil, spring onions, and pear.

I normally would use pear but I didn't have any in hand so I used apples instead. It turn out really nice as well although definitely go for pear if you have it.

Bulgogi is super easy dish to make and I've been experimenting with different types of beef cuts to make it. So far I've tried mince and this time I'm trying what is normally used for bulgogi which is ribeye. My brother bought me some ribeye steak cuts the other day and I decided to use 2 steaks to make this.

I first slice it as thin as possible and then marinated the beef with minced garlic, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil, and a blended mixture of onions and apple. I marinated it for about an hour plus but if you can leave it to marinate in the fridge overnight, that'll be the ideal which will really give it the best flavor at the end.

After that, chopped up some spring onions, onions, and garlic which goes in later when you start cooking the beef.

In a pan, add oil and on high heat then add in the beef when the oil gets hot and let beef get some color. After frying and flipping it a couple of times, add in the remainder marinade and also some water. As it cooks, add in the chopped up vegetables of spring onions, onions, and garlic and let it cook for another couple of minutes. You could also add in mushrooms or bell peppers that's been chopper up if you'd like.

After about 5-7 minutes of cooking, you're done and it's ready to serve. After platting, garnish by sprinkling some sesame seeds to make it look extra pretty. Serve it with white rice and you'll have the most amazing, quick and easy, home cook meal.

For my next round of cooking bulgogi, I'm gonna try maybe some chunks of beef instead like a stew and use the pressure cooker to cook it. I heard Koreans use the pressure cooker to cook their bulgogi even for a tender cut like the ribeye. So I'll have to try that and compare it with my super quick stir fried version.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments