FOODlog #429: Vietnamese Food Takeover

0 25
Avatar for drumsticks
2 months ago

Had an event last Sunday at the bar that I work at. It was a Vietnamese themed bar takeover where there were 3 bartenders from Vietnam that came. When there are bar takeover events, I and the kitchen team will have to come up with dishes that are from the country the bartenders are from.

So this round I needed to come up with some Vietnamese food specials and I came up with 3 dishes for this event.

  • Bò Lá Lốt

This is a mini wrap of beef in betel leaf then grilled. I used angus beef to really make this dish special and served it with a fish sauce dipping sauce on the side. It's topped with roasted peanuts and some coriander microgreens to make this dish really pop.

  • Bún Chả

This dish is a dish that served some grilled pork patties in a fish sauce broth together with rice vermicelli and fresh herbs of Thai basil, mint leaves, and coriander. I used chicken instead of pork and it turned out so good as well.

  • King Prawn Crudo

Got this idea from a place I had their crudo recently. It's king prawns grilled then chopped into bite size pieces together with Kyuri, sliced red chilies and a sauce mixture of lime juice, coconut water, toasted coconut, sugar, and fish sauce. It's topped with tobiko, and egg omelet, and a barley cracker on top.

It was a really successful night and the food had largely positive reviews. Really proud of myself and the team for producing these dishes for everyone to enjoy.

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from Anonymous user(s)
A
Avatar for drumsticks
2 months ago

Comments