FOODlog #425: Chicken Mole Tacos

0 30
Avatar for drumsticks
3 months ago

Always wanted to try Mexican mole sauce and this was a such a great opportunity to make it as there was a guest shift from Mexico at the place I work.

They were Rodrigo and David from the #1 rated bar in North America and the #4 rated bar in the whole of Mexico called Handshake. I decided to make a special menu featuring Mexican flavors which included - Chicken Mole Tacos

For the mole I used a myriad of ingredients that included chilies, tomatoes, a variety of nuts and seeds, raisins, spices, and of course chocolate.

Its such a rich paste and is diluted with chicken stock. For the chicken I marinated boneless chicken thighs with cumin powder, Paprika, and cinnamon powder, with minced garlic, salt, and olive oil. Marinated it for over 20 hours and the next day I oven roasted it on high to get a nice char.

The the meat is shredded and mixed with the mole sauce. I topped the tacos which I used white corn tortillas with a guachille I made with loads of jalapeƱos, crema which I made as well with heavy cream and buttermilk, and finished off with a garnish of pickled red onions, organic red radish that had a slight spiciness to it, and baby coriander for freshness.

It was a great hit with the crowd and I was so pleased and happy with the positive feedbacks.

A great night hosting such an amazing duo that has made it to the pinnacle of the bar scene industry.

1
$ 0.17
$ 0.17 from Anonymous user(s)
A
Avatar for drumsticks
3 months ago

Comments