FOODlog #405: Sweet & Savory Crêpe

0 26
Avatar for drumsticks
4 months ago

Crêpe can be used for bother sweet and savory fillings. It's a versatile batter "pancake" that you can add in whatever you like.

The texture is soft and fluffy and if its thinner or you cook it longer, it'll have a nice crispiness to it.

Here I made a sweet and another savory dish using crêpe as the base.

A fruit crêpe with mascarpone, fresh blueberries, honey, and some edible flowers.

The savory one I made is an dish inspired by a Chinese East Malaysia dish from Kuching Sarawak called 'Mango Duck'. I did this dish for a job that I was interviewing for and they wanted a food tasting. This was my appetizer dish that I made for the day.

I'm using crêpe instead of Chinese pancake, and cooked a Confit duck instead of roasted duck. For the sauce I'm using a Cilantro Lime Aioli and seasoned the duck at the end with some Sichuan pepper salt.

Amazing dishes using the same crêpe base. What other dishes would you experiment using crêpe?

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
4 months ago

Comments