FOODlog #342: Cajun & Butter Tilapia with Buttermilk Dill Sauce

0 22
Avatar for drumsticks
9 months ago

Since I've started using TikTok, I've come across some really cool recipes and superb plating. So one of the days, for the staff meal, I cooked a fancier looking dish as I wanted to try experimenting with some things I watched on TikTok.

I made a pan fried Cajun Tilapia fillet served with a Buttermilk and dill oil sauce.

For the fish filet, I simply seasoned it with a Cajun creole rub and salt, then pan fried it in a pan for about 2-3 minutes on each side and basted it with butter.

The sauce was a little more complex but not too difficult to make either. For the Buttermilk, I used milk, a juice from a Lime, and xanthan gum to give it a delicate but velvety consistency.

For the dill oil, simply blend fresh dill and a neutral oil like sunflower oil together and strain it. Mix the oil with the Buttermilk and plate it with the fish.

The sauce was so elegant and clean. Although it taste very plain on its on, paired with the fish, it really took the whole dish to another level of sophistication.

Really enjoyed making this dish and will definitely be in my arsenal of cooking recipes. Also really loved this dish because I learned quite a few things like making Buttermilk from scratch as well as a dill oil. The process of learning and actually making this dish was so wonderful!

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
9 months ago

Comments