FOODlog #324: Pork Trotter & Mushroom Stew at Mum's

1 23
Avatar for drumsticks
9 months ago

On my off day last week, I went to my parents place for lunch with my kids. My Mum was cooking lunch and it was such a delicious meal. I always love my mum's cooking and that day she made some of my favorite dishes.

She cooked her signature pork trotter stew that has been passed down for generations. It's part of our heritage which I guess is why I'm naturally in love with it.

Its a fairly easy dish to make and you'll need pork trotter or shoulder, soy sauce, oyster sauce, dark soy sauce, garlic, mushrooms, and dried shrimp. For this round she omitted the dried shrimp which you can too.

Stew all these together for about 2 hours and the dish is done. The fat was so soft and flavorful and the lean meat was tender and so tasty. The mushrooms were so plump and juicy with the gravy. Such a delicious stew that I love.

Another dish she made was stir fried vegetables. I don't know what the name of this vegetable is but it has a purple hew to it and it's a little slimy - very delicious.

She also steamed up some smoked duck breast that she bought at a local butcher. It's already smoked and packed into a air tight packaging and all you need to do is heat it up in a microwave of a steamer and it's done. She sliced it really nice and plated it very beautifully for a nice presentation.

Super delicious lunch especially when it's cooked by Mum 🙌

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
9 months ago

Comments

It looks like the Humba recipe of the Philippines.

$ 0.00
9 months ago