FOODlog #322: White Bean Stew

0 18
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

One of the R&D dishes that I came up with for the cafe was the cannellini white bean stew. One of my all time favorite types of dishes to cook is stew. I guess it's because I like to eat stews but also that I'm good at making them.

This one is mainly a vegetable stew although I do use chicken stock which can be swapped out for vegetable stock.

Its a fairly simple stew that starts of with a base of mirepoix sautéed in butter and olive oil. The olive oil so that the butter doesn't burn as well as give it flavor. Season the vegetables with salt and pepper and Sauté for about 7-8 minutes.

I diced the vegetables fairly small so that it looks more sophisticated and dainty at the final product.

Next goes in the herbs and spices which I used cumin powder, paprika, and thyme. Once they release it's aroma, add in the cannellini white beans and chicken stock to cover it and then simmer for 15 minutes.

Season to taste with salt and pepper and the dish is done. It's such a hearty dish that is creamy, velvety and full of flavor. I really love the end result of this that it'll definitely be in my arsenal of dishes to cook to impress.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

Comments