FOODlog #3: The Diane

0 15
Avatar for drumsticks
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Hobby, Write, Cooking, Foodie

This appeared on my Facebook memories. This was from 2 years ago when I was still operating my good truck. How much things can change in 2 years. Super grateful for what I have now.

Anyways, this is a burger that I created called 'The Diane'. Tha name comes from the dish called 'Steak Diane' which is a beef steak that comes with a mushroom sauce.

It's a beef cheeseburger that's topped with creamy mushrooms.

I use fresh oyster mushrooms which I tear by hand into ribbons. It's gives it better volume that way.

I stir fry it with garlic and oil and add salt and black pepper as well as a mixture of spices like, turmeric, cumin, fennel powder, fenugreek, coriander powder, and others. After they've cooked down a little, I then add in cream cheese. You can either add in milk or water to thin the sauce down.

Consistency of the mushroom sauce is up to you. If you like it thicker then add a little less liquid. I like mine nice and velvety. So once you get to that texture, you're good.

The beef patty is a 80/20 meat to fat ratio on in-house ground mince that we grind in our own. It's seared on the flattop using the smashing technique for the patties that give you maximum surface area to form a crispy crust and more caramelisation equals more flavor.

This burger also has a chicken variation for people that don't prefer beef. It's a really delicious burger and a crowd favorite. Maybe one day I'll cook burgers again but who knows when as I don't miss the life of a business owner at all 😄

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Hobby, Write, Cooking, Foodie

Comments