FOODlog #296: Cashew Nuts & Chili Chicken (宫保鸡丁)

3 25
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

I've been wanting to cook this Cantonese-style dish that pairs chicken with cashew nuts. I finally had some cashew nuts in the kitchen and decided to make this dish.

The dish is preferred to use boneless chicken thighs but the supermarket didn't have any so I used chicken tenders that I cut into cubes instead.

I seasoned the chicken with soy sauce, oyster sauce, and dark soy sauce. I stir in oil some fried dried chilies and onions that a roughly chopped.

Next, the chicken goes in and stir fried with the chilies for another 5 minutes and then the cashew nuts go in last for about another minute and the dish is done!

The chicken dish was nice but I think I can still improve on this dish. For my first time, I guess it was decent but definitely there's room for improvement.

I also cooked another dish which I really like which is ladies fingers with spices. I simply stir fried ladies fingers that I chopped up with mustard seeds and curry leaves. I seasoned everything with salt and the dish is done.

We had these 2 dishes with rice and it was a wonderful meal. There was leftovers which I packed back for my family and my brother's family. An inexpensive dish that can feed 10 people easily.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @AlternativeJapan
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

Comments

Man! You eat so good so often! Your posts always make me hungry :)

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Haha yeah. Perks of working in a restaurant/cafe :D

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Ahh, that makes sense.

$ 0.00
10 months ago