FOODlog #294: Beef Tongue & Tendon Spicy Ramen

1 10
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

I had an off day and went to a nearby frozen food store to get some grocery for our staff lunches at the cafe. I bought some buffalo tongue and beef tendon to cook.

Buffalo tongue is similar to beef tongue but a little more gamey. Since I knew it was gonna be gamey, I cooked it with very strong herbs and spices to remove as much of that gamey smell and taste.

I cooked the tongue and tendons with garlic, soy sauce, black peppercorns, star anise, cloves, and ginger. I boiled and stewed it for over 2 hours to make them really tender.

After it cooled down, I sliced them and then prepared a spicy sichuan peppercorn stock and noodles to pair with the beef. The stock was so spicy and really paired perfectly with the meat and tendon that was super tender and soft. The noodles were egg noodles that were really fine and had a springy texture. It soaked up the spicy broth perfectly.

I garnished the bowl of noodles with freshly sliced spring onions that gave it a nice pop in color and added a nice freshness to the dish. A superb dish that took lots of time to cook and prepare with a delicious end result.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

Comments

It looks very appetizing and presentable.

$ 0.00
10 months ago