FOODlog #288: Korean Beef Bulgogi

1 31
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

've been planning to cook beef bulgogi, a Korean beef stew dish that I absolutely love and there was a week that I had the time to make it for the staff meal.

I used beef tenderloin that I sliced thinly and marinated it in a marinade I made with soy sauce, oyster sauce, brown sugar, minced garlic, and sesame oil. Originally there is blended puree of pear but I forgot to get some pear which is also fine as the end result turned out super delicious as well.

Some recipes replace the pear with apples or pineapples which you could use if you can't get your hands on pears.

After 18 hours or marinating, I dumped everything into a pot and bring it up to a boil then lower the fire for the beef to cook for at least an hour.

In the meantime, I prepped my vegetables which I'll be adding to the beef stew. I sliced up some onions and bell peppers that I added in for the final 10 minutes of cooking. At this point I turn off the fire and then add in the vegetables then covering the lid of the pot, let it cook with the residual heat.

This is so the vegetables don't over cook and it's the perfect texture where its not under cooked nor over cooked.

Sprinkle some sesame seeds and spring onions for garnish and enjoy it with rice. A super delicious meal with loads of leftovers. I even manage to takeaway for my sister in law where she brought her own containers to get some at my car after work 😄

3
$ 1.00
$ 1.00 from @AlternativeJapan
Avatar for drumsticks
10 months ago

Comments

If I only have much money to buy ingridients for sure I will always cook yummy foods also.

$ 0.00
10 months ago