FOODlog #272: 'Chai Bouy' Pork Shoulder & Stomach

1 22
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Last day of the event and it was my turn to cook. I made one of my Mum's all-time signature dishes which recipe has been passed down from her mum and her mum's mum and God knows how many more generations before.

I made a dish called 'Chai Bouy' which is mustard greens cooked with pork. It's a fairly simple dish that anyone can make and doesn't have any particularly difficult cooking technique involved. All you need are the right ingredients and you're good to go.

I used pork should that I cut into chunks and marinated it with soy sauce, oyster sauce, and dark soy sauce. You can also use pork belly or chicken if you'd like. This dish does typically use this ingredient but I used pork stomach as well which I boiled with some black peppercorns and ginger for about 10 minutes then removed it and sliced it up into rough slices.

For the main stew dish, start by toasting some dried chilies and lemongrass with some oil. After they get fragrant, add in the pork to stir fry for about 4-5 minutes to brown. Next, add in water, slices of dried tamarind (Assam keping), and a whole bulb of unpeeled garlic.

Add in the pork stomach to the stew and let everything simmer for at least an hour. For the final 10 minutes add in your favorite leafy vegetable preferably mustard greens but I didn't have any so I added in cabbage and some other greens that I had.

One final season to taste and the dish is done. Serve with white rice and enjoy. The dish is savory, salty, slightly spicy, and slightly sour from the tamarind slices. An appetising dish that will surely satisfy.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments

Very timely, I am eating my dinner now 😋.

$ 0.00
1 year ago