FOODlog #266: Onion Fried Chicken & Curry

2 21
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Went to my favorite 'mamak' restaurant again a couple of Sunday's ago after church. I love their rice and curry dishes especially my go to 'Ayam Bawang' which is onions and chicken.

The 'Ayam bawang' is fried chicken that's cooked in a thick sauce of onions that have been cooked and caramelised with loads of spices like star anise, cloves, and fennel seeds. Those are some that I can notice when eating this dish but I'm sure there are loads more spices as its extremely aromatic flavorful.

The thick gravy that's almost paste-like is sweet from the onions and so aromatic and tasty from the spices and herbs. The chicken is tender and succulent where the flavor from the gravy seeps in and flavors the chicken well.

I had this dish with rice topped with a mixture of their various and delicious curries as well as some ladies fingers for my vegetable.

Its not a pretty looking dish to most but to me this is what my comfort food looks like. If there was any dish that is the equivalent of a sloppy joe, rice and curry here in Malaysia would be it. Simply delicious! ~~

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments

At first look it looks spicy but actually not really. I wonder how it taste 😋.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah its an amazing dish and one of my all time favorite

$ 0.00
1 year ago