FOODlog #262: Baked Beans Omelet

2 18
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

I've been missing my Mum's cooking so I decided to make a dish that she used to make for me growing up. Even when we were still staying together, she didn't cook this dish much so I was thinking it's a good time to cook this dish since its been a really long time since I've had it.

Its an inexpensive dish and fairly easy to make. It's a large omelet that has baked beans from a can topped on it. Simple enough right?

First I sauté some onions and potatoes in a pan with salt and pepper. After the potatoes soften, add in a can of baked beans to the pan and warm it up. If you like it spicy, you can add in some chili flakes at this point and let everything cook for 3-4 minutes.

In a non-stick pan, add in beaten eggs of about 5-6 eggs and make a large omelet. I like the fried omelet style for this so let it cook and set at the bottom. Then with some flipping skills, flip the egg with a toss in the air and cook on the other side. Alternatively you can transfer it to a plate and flip the egg more manually.

Add some salt to taste and plate the omelet up. Top the omelet with the baked beans and hash mixture and the dish is done!

Since I made this at the cafe, I added some gouda cheese on top and torched it to melt the cheese.

It was super delicious and had me a nostalgic moment of meals from my childhood.

2
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments

I also want some omelet too 😋. That was a great recipe to try too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it's a simple yet delicious recipe to try :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago