FOODlog #257: Black Pepper Yaki Udon

2 16
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

It was my turn to cook and after eating rice for many days in a row, I decided to have a change and cooked some noodles instead.

I bought some udon noodles and cooked black pepper yaki udon. I seasoned up some chicken tenders that I sliced up with black pepper and salt.

For the vegetables, I used napa cabbage that I simple sliced up, carrots that I cut into julienne strips, and some onions roughly sliced up as well.

For the sauce, I used oyster sauce, soy sauce and black pepper sauce as well as freshly cracked black pepper for even more black pepper flavor and aroma.

I used the flat top and turned it up to high then teppanyaki-style, added some garlic oil and stir fried the onions, carrots, and cabbage.

Once the vegetable soften a little, I add the chicken slices and cook them for about 4-5 minutes. Once they are cooked I add in the udon noodles that I've lightly blanched earlier in boiling water to loosen them up. I stir fried them with the vegetables before adding in the sauce and cooking everything on high heat for another 5-7 minutes.

It was such a delicious meal - the udon was nice and soft and the vegetables giving the dish some crunch and natural sweetness. The black pepper was so present and really hit you with a nice kick of aroma and flavor which I enjoyed a lot as I do love black pepper flavored stuff. Delish! ~~

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments

I wanted to taste that meal too 😋. I am sure it really taste good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you ever visit Malaysia I'll be more than glad to make you a meal

$ 0.00
1 year ago