FOODlog #249: Chicken Piccata with Roasted Potatoes & Spinach

2 20
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Our cafe recently hired a new guy as a barrista. He's the youngest coworker we have now at only 20 years old. After a couple of weeks working together he complimented that our staff meal is by far the best staff meal he has had at any place he's ever worked at.

Since its his first few weeks with us, I decided to cook some of my signature meals that I haven't cooked for some time as well.

I made chicken Piccata for our meal but instead of mash potatoes and Sautéed French beans like my last round, I accompanied the chicken with Sautéed spinach and roasted potatoes.

For the chicken I drenched it in flour that I seasoned with onion powder and garlic powder. I then pan fried them until golden brown on both sides then tossed in butter, capers, lemon juice, and some chicken stock. Let them simmer for about 10 minutes, season to taste with some salt and pepper and more butter and the chicken is done!

For the spinach, wash and clean them thoroughly then cook them with some garlic oil and season with salt and chicken stock.

For the potatoes, I handled them with a little more love and care to make a superb side dish. Potatoes are affordable and if treated well, makes some of the best side dishes ever.

For mine, I boiled them in some water until they are fork tender. I then remove them from the pot and smash them with a fork or you could use anything to smash it. This is so that it'll have more edges and when it goes in the oven, more edges means more crispiness overall which makes for a much more delicious roasted potato.

I seasoned it with thyme, garlic oil, butter, salt and some black pepper. This goes into a 180 degree oven for 10 minutes then 220 degrees for another 7-8 minutes. The result is a tender and creamy potato with golden crusted crispy edges.

Plate them all up and a super delicious lunch is served. Yummmmyyy! ~~

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks for the comment. Yeah it was super delicious :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks appetizing 😋, I love eating chicken and vegies too. Thanks for sharing how you cooked it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago