FOODlog #245: Beef Stew with Local Spices

0 12
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

I cooked some beef stew for lunch the other using the leftover Brazilian striploin that the cafe had. I didn't really know what to cook so I improvised and made a spiced stew with local spices and some vegetables.

I started off with some aromatics like ginger and garlic as well as some spices like cloves and star anise and toasted them in some oil in a pot. After they were fragrant I added in the beef and gave them a good sear to get some caramelization which will boost the flavors of the whole stew.

I then added in water to cover the meat and then added in cabbage and some greens to cook together. The vegetables give it a natural sweetness that'll balance well with the meaty flavor of the beef.

We also had some asparagus that was gonna go to waste if we didn't use them so I tossed them in as well into the stew. I guess it's whatever we had leftover, we used it for this dish and it turn out really nourishing and delicious.

We had our stew with rice and had a yummy lunch just before the rush hour.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments