FOODlog #233: Chicken Curry 'Kerutuk'

0 12
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

A few weeks ago it was my turn to cook the staff meal. When I do have the energy and am well rested, I do enjoy cooking for the rest of the staff. I get to also cook things I like to eat or dishes that I want to explore cooking.

I get to go shopping with the cafes budget for the meals and this round I got a whole chicken and a 'kerutuk' spice mix. It's a type of Malaysian curry that had coconut milk, tamarind, and 'gula Melaka' (caramelised palm sugar).

For the aromatics I started with sautéing some onions in oil. Once they turn translucent, I add ginger and lemongrass and stir fry them for another 2-3 minutes. Once they are fragrant, I add in the 'kerutuk' spice mix to cook for another 3-4 minutes.

Next, I add in the chicken, together with the tamarind extract, gula Melaka and coconut milk to cook with the chicken for around 15-20 minutes.

For the final 10 minutes, I add in some carrots and potatoes that I've roughly chopped and season the curry to taste.

The end result is a savory and creamy curry that you can eat with bread or rice. A 1 pot dish that's easy and quick to make.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments