FOODlog #216: Japanese Curry Chicken & Mix Vegetables

0 12
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

I had some Japanese curry seasoning cubes left at home so I brought them over to the cafe to cook it for the staff. This brand called 'Vermont' is my go to brand as I've tried others before and this one is the best among them.

All you need is your choice of protein. I normally use chicken or pork but this time I used chicken drumsticks for curry.

It uses just a few ingredients which I used carrots, potatoes, and onions that I roughly chip into chunks and you're good to go.

To start, heat up in a pan some oil and then add in the vegetables. After about 2-3 minutes stir frying the vegetables, add in the chicken drumsticks and brown them. Add some salt to season everything and then the Japanese curry stock cubes go in.

Let them melt gently and stir them in to the chicken and vegetables until they are incorporated well with the other ingredients.

Next you want to add in some water. Don't add in a whole liter of water but add a little at a time maybe around 200ml of water and then stew the chicken. When the liquid level drops, add in more water and let everything cook again. Do this about 2-3 times for about 10 minutes for each round and you're done.

The chicken should be fully cooked by then and your Japanese curry is done. Add salt to taste and its ready to be served and enjoyed.

My colleague cooked some mixed vegetables of cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots and topped it with some Korean chili flakes.

We ate these 2 dishes with rice which is the perfect combination to pair with the Japanese curry.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments