FOODlog #202: Chicken Casserole with Tomatoes & Potatoes

0 10
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Often whenever I don't know what to cook, I think of the food that my Mum cooks for us and cook those dishes for my staff meals.

And that's just what I did the other day. I cooked 2 dishes that is in my Mum's recipe bag. I made a chicken fillet stir fry with cinnamon sticks, fresh tomatoes, and potatoes, seasoned with soy sauce, oyster sauce, and garlic.

Its an easy dish to make with inexpensive ingredients. First I peel the potatoes and then slice them using a mandolin into medallions. I then deep fry the potatoes for about 3 minutes and then remove them from the oil.

Now, add some oil to a pan and cook the garlic till its fragrant. The chicken fillets then go in and cook for about 2-3 minutes on high heat. Season the chicken with some salt and then roughly chop some tomatoes and add them to the pan.

Finally add in the precooked potatoes, 2-3 cinnamon sticks. And some water to the pan to stew for about 3 minutes.

Season to taste further with more soy sauce, oyster sauce, and/or salt and its ready to be served.

For the vegetable dish I made, I also made something my Mum cooks fairly regularly which is stir fried spinach.

Simply clean and wash spinach and stir fry it with lots of oil and garlic. Spinach is one of those leafy greens that need lots of oil when you're stir frying as it'll dry out without enough oil. Season with some salt and chicken stock and you're done.

We ate all of this with rice and it was super delicious having a little bit of home here at work.

1
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments