FOODlog #195: Mum's Tuna Mushroom Spaghetti

0 5
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

When I was running my own F&B business, I use to have on the menu this dish that my Mum made. It's a tuna and mushroom pasta that's creamy and super delicious.

It uses a variety of canned food items and some fresh ingredients like onions, dried oregano, and Worcestershire sauce for the seasonings and flavor of this dish. It's a dish that makes canned food the highlight and trust me, a super unique and delicious dish.

I haven't eaten this dish in awhile so I made it at my work place for the staff meal for lunch.

The dish first starts with onions that are diced and sautéed in the canned tuna oil. After it softens then I add in sliced canned button mushrooms and sauté them for another 5 minutes.

The tuna then goes in and it's cooked until fragrant which takes about 3-4 minutes. Next a can of mushroom soup goes in and mix until it incorporates with the onions, mushrooms and tuna. Next the dried oregano and also parsley is added in and cooked with some water for about 5 minutes.

The final step is to add in mayonnaise about equivalent amount as the canned mushroom soup. Lower the fire and mix everything so they are all incorporated with one another.

Next some milk and pasta water is added to the sauce to thin it out. The consistency should be thick and creamy and not thin. Finally add in Worcestershire sauce and some salt and optional some black pepper to taste and you're done. The thing to make sure not to do is after the mayonnaise is added, do not bring the sauce to a boil or you'll get a split sauce which is not what you want.

For this pasta, I use spaghetti and when you top it with the sauce it should mix until you get a thick and sticky consistency with the noodles. It's a super delicious dish and I'm glad I inherited this from my Mum.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments