FOODlog #183: Fried Barramundi with Spicy Soy

0 5
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

For one of the days 2 weeks ago I cooked for the crew some fried fishes. They were going for RM13 (<4 USD) per fish which i bought 3 barramundi.

To prep them I had the supermarket descale the fishes but the guy doing it seem to be new and didn't know how to gut the fish. So when I took them to the kitchen, I gutted and cleaned them well before seasoning them with some salt to marinade for about 10 minutes. Also had to descale the fishes again as the newbie monger didn't do a good job descaling it. Haha.

I cooked 2 of the 3 fishes and prepared them simply with salt. Added some oil to a griddle and fried them on each side for about 3-4 minutes per side. They turned out super crispy on the outside and moist and tender on the inside.

I made a dipping sauce to go with the fish which I used minced garlic, sliced onion (or shallots), birds eye chili, and mixed them with light soy sauce and dark soy sauce together with some lemon juice. It was a perfect dipping sauce for the fish, salty, sweet, tangy, and spicy.

Another dish I cooked was stir fried long beans that I cut about an 2 inches long. There were also some Portobello mushroom stems so I cooked that together with the long beans with some oil and garlic and seasoned everything with some Korean bean paste.

We ate all this with simply steamed jasmine rice and everyone really enjoyed the meal.

1
$ 0.71
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments