FOODlog #175: Chicken Piccata

0 8
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

I've been wanting to try this recipe for sometime now and I finally got to try it. I cooked 'Chicken Piccata' for the staff meal and made a side of mash potatoes and French beans.

Chicken Piccata is an Italian dish. I don't really know how it suppose to taste so I followed a recipe and used cooking instincts to balance the seasonings and flavor. Here's how I made it:

First I butterflied the chicken breast and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I let it marinate for about 10 minutes while I prepared the potatoes for the mash and my friend helped me to peel and wash the french beans.

Next, I prepared a flour mixture with all purpose flour, onion powder and garlic powder. I then breaded the chicken breast and pan fried them in some garlic oil.

After browning the chicken on both sides, I took them out of the pan and deglazed the pan with some water to make the sauce. I added in to the mix capers, lemon juice, and butter and added the chicken back to the pan to cook for another 3-4 minutes.

The gravy was so delicious and creamy. It was tangy and so flavorful which really made me love this dish and will definitely cook this again in the future.

Chicken Piccata

For the mash, I simply boiled the potatoes, mashed them and added in butter and seasoned them with chicken stock powder.

The French beans I stir fried with some garlic and simply seasoned with salt.

Stir Fried French Beans

Plate them up and its ready to serve. The gravy from the chicken Piccata paired so well with the Mash Potatoes and the French beans were cooked perfectly and paired really well with the dish. Super delicious lunch made with a few ingredients.

Chicken Piccata with Mash Potatoes & French Beans

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments