FOODlog #166: Black Pepper & Onions Lamb Stew

0 11
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

I had a friend who's girlfriend's birthday was coming and he asked me if I could cook him some stew. So happen my brother had lamb chops that were in the freezer and already fully marinated ready so I cooked some lamb stew for him.

The lamb chops were lamb shoulder cut into steak cuts and marinated with soy sauce, dark soy sauce, oyster sauce, black pepper, salt, and dried rosemary.

I then prepped 500g+ of onions that I sliced and the sauteed in oil with some salt and black pepper for about 5-10 minutes of high heat. After they have soften, I add in the lamb chops and brown them a little.

Chopped Onions

Once they were browned I added in water till it covered the chops and seasoned with some salt, more black pepper, and some chicken powder. I then bring the water up to a boil and then lower the fire to simmer for about and hour.

I then prepped my vegetables which were carrots and potatoes. After an hour of the stewing the lamb chops, I then added in my vegetables in for another half an hour.

Before adding in the vegetables, I skimmed off the oil that comes from the lamb fat and added it into a sauteing pan which I then add in flour and make a roux out of it. I slowly add in the roux into the stew to thicken the sauce which is the same time the vegetables go in.

After the final half hour which is a total of around 1 hour 30 minutes of cooking, the chops and vegetables are tender. Add in any needed seasoning of salt and pepper and the stew is done!

Black Pepper & Onions Lamb Stew

A very simple and delicious stew that all you need is a little time.

2
$ 0.66
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments