FOODlog #159: Rice on Banana Leaf with Curry

0 5
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Last Sunday I went for lunch at Banana Bros after church with 2 friends. It's been awhile since I last had banana leaf rice but it's definitely more often than before as now there's Banana Bros restaurant which is located nearby where I live.

Used to have to travel to Bangsar for good quality rice on banana leaf but now after Banana Bros has opened in shopping malls around the area, it's so much more accessible to get good quality rice on banana leaf.

I ordered their rice on banana leaf which had 4 sides as usual. This round they had their cucumber raita, deep fried battered snake gourd, and masala pumpkin. I've noticed that they always have the cucumber raita and deep fried snake gourd but rotate the other dish which so far I've had masala pumpkin, masala potatoes, and stir fried turmeric cabbage. I love their masala potatoes but you never know what you're gonna get and this round it was their masala pumpkin which is also very nice.

Rice on Banana Leaf

Another side dish is the papadoms which you can order any of the above as much as you want without any extra charges.

For my rice, I only got their fish curry this round which is my favorite go-to curry. I didn't want any other curries mixed in to my rice this time coz I wanted to enjoy the fish curry on it's own.

My friends got other side dishes and drinks as well. I just had the rice and the side dishes which was really filling for me. At the end of the meal my friend paid the bill and treated me lunch.

Iced Milk Tea

We also had a good time chatting about cell group related stuff and I got to share about some reasons as to why we currently do not have any other "official church gatherings" except for our Sundays. To me it makes it all the more precious and whenever we actually do gather with one another outside of Sundays, we are gathering on purpose with our hearts full of appreciation and love for one another. No better way to build community than actually caring about one another and not just "doing ministry".

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments