FOODlog #157: Sticky Pork Ribs Chinese-Style

0 7
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Last week I cooked lunch for my family. My Mum was outstation so I made lunch instead. I cooked 2 dishes, a meat dish and another vegetable stir fry.

I cooked some Chinese style wok fried sticky pork ribs. First I washed the pork ribs by soaking it and rinsing it multiple times with clean water and the final round of the rinsing I soaked it in water that I added some corn flour in. I saw it somewhere where people selling steamed fish do that to remove any fishy smell from the fish so I used that technique for washing the pork ribs.

Cleaned Pork Ribs

This way of soaking and rinsing removes all the blood from the bones of the ribs which will give you a very clean tasting final product. After that I chopped up some garlic and heated it in a wok with some oil. When it starts to get fragrant, add in the pork ribs and fry it, adding in the seasonings which I used, dark soy sauce, soy sauce, oyster sauce, brown sugar, Chinese red wine, sesame oil, and sesame seeds.

After frying for about 5 minutes sealing the meat, add in water to cover and let it simmer away for at least an hour. If it gets dry too fast, simple add in more water and after the final few minutes, let the water evaporate thoroughly and you'll be left with delicious sticky sweet pork ribs.

Stir Frying Garlic
Sticky Ribs

For the vegetables I washed and chopped up some water spinach (kangkung) and stir fried it with some garlic and the oil that was released from stewing the pork ribs. I seasoned the vegetables with some salt and white pepper and stir fry it until it was cooked.

We had our lunch with white rice as usual. A fairly simple meal to cook with a little extra care in the prep. Yums! ~~

1
$ 0.48
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments